Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default unable to update placeholder - error message

    Hi,

    I'm hoping someone can help me figure out how to update a placeholder I have on my site. I have Xara Web Designer, up to date, 64 bit.

    I use a Zoom Indexer search box on my site and have had the same HTML for years, and it functions well on the site.

    I want to update my site and need to change the link inside the placeholder from an http:-address to an https:-address. But I get an error message when I try to save, and I also get an error message when I try to save the original code. So, I click on 'Cancel' and the original placeholder remains.

    The error message is 'Placeholders/Widgets cannot have Pop-up photo applied'.

    Any ideas of where I'm goofing up? Thanks for any and all help.


    Blue
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	original form.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	73.3 KB 
ID:	121829   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	error message.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	72.6 KB 
ID:	121830  


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    7,843

    Info Re: unable to update placeholder - error message

    Select your Placeholder and then switch the Tab to Image in its Web Properties.
    Untick Pop-up photo and click the Apply button.
    Switchback to the Placeholder body code and change the protocol and click apply again.

    Should then all work.

    As you are using that domain, you only need relative URLs:

    Code:
    <form method="GET" action="zoomsearch-bin/search.php" target="_top">
        <input type="text" name="zoom_query" size="26" placeholder=" Search"><a href="zoomsearch-bin/search.php"><img src="searchicon.png"></a>
        </form>
    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: unable to update placeholder - error message

    Thank you, Acorn! That worked like a charm. I really appreciate the help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    7,843

    Default Re: unable to update placeholder - error message

    Quote Originally Posted by bluesterling View Post
    Thank you, Acorn! That worked like a charm. I really appreciate the help.
    You're welcome. Which one though? The full https or the relative URL?

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,115

    Default Re: unable to update placeholder - error message

    Are you aware that a considerable part of the lower menu is covered by images?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	goldendoodles.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	46.2 KB 
ID:	121834  
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,015

    Default Re: unable to update placeholder - error message

    Egg, I suspect that you are using a standard resolution much lower than most people expect. Everything seem to work fine for me.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,115

    Default Re: unable to update placeholder - error message

    Hi Keith,
    I don't think so. It's more to do with the non-xara menu. When I first visit the page in FF all the drop-down options are open (which they shouldn't). You can see Section 1 Section 2 etc in the displayed menu. The attached image is what i see. However if I then click on further items the menu item then includes up/down arrows to open/close sub-menus. Even with these then working correctly the menu bar still extends below the "DoodClasified for the Dood Lover" image.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	goldendoodles-2.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	36.7 KB 
ID:	121836  
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,115

    Default Re: unable to update placeholder - error message

    Here's how it looks after clicking on a menu option. It now has open/close items on the menu items but some menu items still drop below the image
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	goldendoodles-3.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	54.6 KB 
ID:	121837  
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •