Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    219

    Default 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    When you add a row to a table, cells with text are reproduced but cells with images become empty.

    This is a real problem for anyone who wants to use e.g. Table 4 for a staff directory with more than 5 people... Acorn's helpful suggestion involving the fill tool still means that the images in the table have different properties. Can Xara please alter the tables in the gallery so that adding a row reproduces all the elements of the previous row and the integrity of the table is preserved. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    219

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    PS: Of course this is part of a wider problem of image handling: There needs to be an easy way to insert a graphic into a cell and have it properly anchored. Right now, if you try to insert a checkmark into an cell in Table 1, it will not move with the rest of the table unless it was added as a bitmap fill; and even then, the padding etc. of this cell won't match that of the other cells.

    Since your gallery tables include images, I'd say that fixing this issue (or at least providing clear instructions for a workaround to insert a graphic into a table) is quite urgent.

    Thanks,
    Yaffa
    Last edited by yjs; 28 May 2018 at 05:04 AM. Reason: for clarity

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    687

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    Hi Yaffa :)

    I'll check where this is in the bug list and try to get it's priority raised. Apologies for the inconvenience caused!

    Thanks
    Rob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    219

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    Great, Many thanks, Rob.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    687

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    Hi Yaffa,

    This has been fixed internally shortly after the last patch unfortunately so it won't be released until the next patch!

    Apologies for the inconvenience caused and many thanks for your info

    Rob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,963

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    Unlike features, bug fixes should be released as soon as they are fixed. Not wait for a update patch to be released.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    687

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    Unfortunately this isn't possible with the desktop software due to the amount of work that goes into testing, producing and releasing patches. It's just simply too much for a team of our size, but would be nice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,963

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    In that case, I look forward to the next patch/update. I hope it's not going to be as long a wait as the last one.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    219

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    Quote Originally Posted by ss-kalm View Post
    Unlike features, bug fixes should be released as soon as they are fixed. Not wait for a update patch to be released.
    Rob, I'm grateful for the speedy update and appreciate that it takes work to release a patch. But I have to agree with Keith. By not supplying a fast fix (or at least a workaround) for a critical function in the update's main new feature, Xara is saying: 'Look! You can finally insert a staff directory.. as long as you don't have more than 5 people in your team.... And you can finally have a table with checkboxes!.. as long as your checks are in exactly the same cells as in our gallery table.'

    If the Magix folks can't give a timely fix could you at least give out on your instructions page a step by step workaround for inserting a graphic into an existing table (so that it moves and can be processed with the rest of the table) and adding a row with a graphic. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    937

    Default Re: 15.1 tables - inability to duplicate rows with images

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob-Xar View Post
    Unfortunately this isn't possible with the desktop software due to the amount of work that goes into testing, producing and releasing patches. It's just simply too much for a team of our size, but would be nice.
    Pity you cannot do what I did when working for Unisys. We could generate a binary patch for a specific bug. The user had the option of updating his software with the patch if it affected him. All patches were then incorporated into a version for release.
    Grace
    http://gracehjs.com/
    Xara Software XDP11

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •