Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    302

    Default Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    Hello

    Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    i.e. I have a 4K screen (3840 x 2160pixels) running Windows 10 x64 at 200% and TBH, my current version of Xara looks awful whatever you do. That is, either the whole interface is blurred OR it is sharp but you can't read half the fields in the user interface.
    I am a long-standing fan but only an occasional user of Xara. There is absolutely no way I shall upgrade until Xara fix that.

    J

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,286

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    As far as I know, the answer is NO. It's on Xara's wish-list but I wouldn't hold your breath.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,300

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    No. I had asked Xara about this some time back and they said they were considering 4K support but that was the last I heard of it.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,286

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    In one of your recent threads Phil from Xara replied in post #17:

    LINK
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Surrey, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,332

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    Hii, I don't know if this is appropriate I run Designer Pro (15) on a 32" 4k Monitor. But when I run
    it at the full resolution all menus and such are too small to see and print is minuute.
    Intel i7-2600 processor 3.4GH, Windows 10 64Bit, 12GB Memory, Geforce 960 2Gb graphics card

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    Solution to your guys problem is not buy 4k monitors

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    NJ, near Princeton Univ (USA), midway between NYC and Philly
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    Actually...Designer Pro X15 works fine on 4K monitors with the right settings. My laptop (which is my primary work machine these days) is a Dell XPS 15 9560 with a 4K screen (3840 x 2160), and my external monitor is a Dell P2715Q (DP4k60) -- also running at the same resolution, and DPX15 looks great on both -- menus and all. I frankly have to admit that I don't recall the exact settings in Windows that I changed, but it didn't take much. Unfortunately Windows 10 isn't great about putting settings all in one place, and letting you see everything you've tweaked. But...

    Try right-clicking on the icon for Designer Pro X, go into properties, and look at the Compatibility tab. From there, you can look at the "high DPI" settings for this individual program -- this lets you tweak the settings without having to compromise your 4K settings system wide. I'm not 100% positive this is where I made the changes -- and frankly I don't SEE any manual settings in there now, but I'm pretty sure that's where I made the changes first time around.

    In the end, though, you CAN make a few quick changes in Windows 10 and DPX 15 will look perfect -- menus and all -- on a 4K monitor. If anyone can't figure it out, I'll be happy to help pursue this and see if I can reverse engineer my own settings a bit more thoroughly.

    EDIT: skimming other articles to try to jog my memory: might involve something like:
    - Properties
    - Compatibility
    - In Settings, Select "Override high DPI scaling behavior. Scaling performed by:", and choose "System (Enhanced)"
    - Apply

    NOTE: This looks a bit unfamiliar, and frankly I STILL recall exactly what I did but it might have been something along these lines. I have a tendency to confront issues like this AS I encounter them, and then if I don't anticipate having to deal with them a lot, I don't dedicate a lot of thinking power to them -- just do it, and move on, knowing I can likely reconstruct a solution later on if ever needed. So - my apologies for a half-baked forum insert here, but it CAN be done, and DPX 15 will look and work just right on a 4K screen. I'll be happy to share screen shots if anyone asks.

    - Jon

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,929

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    shipen has the scale and layout, text/app/other setting in windows display, higher than 100% [ in his post above he mentions 200%]

    this is what complicates the issue I think - I don't have a problem at 100% setting with 2K/4K monitors, as you say... but you have to accept that the larger the resolution the smaller the print [for a given physical monitor size]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    thank for

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    302

    Default Re: Is Xara Designer Pro X15 "4K ready"?

    I have XDP X10. Yes you can set "override high DPI scaling", and yes everything becomes pin-sharp, BUT the result is that all the layouts start to break and many propert boxes on the UI become unreadable.

    I for one have no intention of upgrading Xara until they fix their UI.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •