Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default First edit handle in a line or shape invisible :(

    Since I updated from 12 to 15 of Xara P&GD i have been getting an error that has been bugging me...

    When I draw a line or shape, all edit handles are visible, but if I deselect the line or shape or select an old line the first handle becomes/is invisible.
    It is becoming tiresome to click around for the handle and hope to find it, or to go through extra steps just to be able to figure out where it is.

    It used to be that you could always see all handles (exept if two handles where in the same place)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Error.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	11.5 KB 
ID:	121105

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    8,063

    Default Re: First edit handle in a line or shape invisible :(

    Right-click on the shape and pick Shape Tool.

    Use click-drag to cover one of the visible control points.
    With one selected, press the Tab key to move around all the controls.

    It might be your graphics card.
    Ctrl+Shift+T forces a redraw.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    35,300

    Default Re: First edit handle in a line or shape invisible :(

    Select the shape then the Shape Tool and press the Tab key. This highlights the first and last control point.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tab key.png 
Views:	7 
Size:	22.4 KB 
ID:	121106  
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: First edit handle in a line or shape invisible :(

    Thanks Acorn & gwpriester

    Redrawing did not help, but I think I will manage using the shapetool and tab button, that was a helpful tip.
    I tried starting up v11 again and there I can see the start handle just fine, so I dont think it has to do with the graphics card.
    This also happens on lines, not just closed shapes.

    I have been using Xara since v4, but v15 did a couple of things that I was not to keen on, also it seems more unstable than earlier versions,
    I have gotten a couple of chrashes just from copying and pasting attributes between objects, also that it now deselects any selected objects when you need to open a folder in the line gallery, and don't get me started on the new way to handle photos...

    Here is a small sample of the kind of work I do in Xara:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Flag.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	76.7 KB 
ID:	121109

    Anyway, have a nice day everyone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    8,063

    Default Re: First edit handle in a line or shape invisible :(

    Quote Originally Posted by Faithtoken View Post
    Thanks Acorn & gwpriester

    Redrawing did not help, but I think I will manage using the shapetool and tab button, that was a helpful tip.
    I tried starting up v11 again and there I can see the start handle just fine, so I dont think it has to do with the graphics card.
    This also happens on lines, not just closed shapes.
    It might be down to your environment as there have been no other similar reports to date.

    It is possible your installation needs a tweak.
    Start your application, just the once, by right-clicking and picking Run as administrator.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    18,286

    Default Re: First edit handle in a line or shape invisible :(

    And if you're still having issues after Acorns suggestion could you attach a .web/.xar file showing this behavior?
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •