Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Rochford
    Posts
    91

    Default H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    I have added H1,H2,H3 headings to my homepage but want to add H4. I canít seem to find H4 in XWD. Is there anyway of adding An H4 heading or should I use H3 twice?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,425

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Are you talking of Heading 1, 2 & 3 as are the standard included styles in all Xara documents?

    If you are, create some text in Heading 3, then in the style dropdown select Create Style. Name it Heading 4, set Based On to 'no style' and click okay. With the text still selected you can change the font, size & colour. 'Heading 4' will change to 'Heading 4+'. Click on the dropdown & select update Heading 4 to Match. The '+' symbol will disappear. You've now created your own style.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    6,599

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    Are you talking of Heading 1, 2 & 3 as are the standard included styles in all Xara documents?

    If you are, create some text in Heading 3, then in the style dropdown select Create Style. Name it Heading 4, set Based On to 'no style' and click okay. With the text still selected you can change the font, size & colour. 'Heading 4' will change to 'Heading 4+'. Click on the dropdown & select update Heading 4 to Match. The '+' symbol will disappear. You've now created your own style.
    Not quite Egg, if you create a Heading 4, Xara does not produce an H4 TAG in the HTML code; you get a SPAN:
    <div class="xr_txt xr_s0" style="position: absolute; left:131px; top:171px; width:301px; height:10px;"> <h1 class="xr_tl Heading_1 xr_s1" style="top: -25.65px;margin:0;">H1</h1>
    <h2 class="xr_tl Heading_1 Heading_2 xr_s2" style="top: 15.03px;margin:0;">H2</h2>
    <h3 class="xr_tl Heading_1 Heading_3 xr_s3" style="top: 45.78px;margin:0;">H3</h3>
    <span class="xr_tl Heading_1 Heading_3 Heading_4 xr_s4" style="top: 72.91px;">H4</span>
    The only way I have overcome this is to use jQuery to copy the SPAN parameters and clone into a new H4 tag.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,425

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Cheers Acorn, basically that's fairly meaningless to me (Thus my question in my first paragraph) and I can see the difference now you've highlighted it.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Rochford
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Thanks for your replies.
    But Iím a bit confused now..... this looks a bit complicated for me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    6,599

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Quote Originally Posted by ianzzz5 View Post
    Thanks for your replies.
    But I’m a bit confused now..... this looks a bit complicated for me.
    It is complicated. You therefore need to raise a Dear Xara thread asking for W3C Heading compliance H1 to H6.

    Xara needs to cover Heading 4 --> H4, Heading 5 --> H5 & Heading 6 --> H6.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Rochford
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Thank you Acorn will do.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    6,599

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Quote Originally Posted by ianzzz5 View Post
    Thank you Acorn will do.
    Ian, I'll support you with any techie stuff,
    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Rochford
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: H1, H2, H3 H4? Headings

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Ian, I'll support you with any techie stuff,
    Acorn
    Thanks

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •