Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default V10 Web Designer Premium Installation folder may be damaged

I have been using Web Designer 10 premium for many years. Just reently, on startup, I received an error message

"Installation folder may be damaged. Error code -1". I haven't explicitly done anything to change the configuration. To try and overcome this I did and full uninstall, then removed installation.ini, then reinstall with a fresh download. This makes no difference.

Seeking help from Xara I created a support ticket. Xara helpfully sent me a URL to view progress on the ticket https://support.xara.com/index.php?/.../SWZ-463-16603

When I follow this link I'm invited to login but a login button is not provided on the page.

I have a similar configuration on another PC and I used this to test the download install. On the other PC the installation works OK.

Does anyone have any ideas out there?

Thanks Paul
    Win10 Home 10.0.16299 x64

Default Re: V10 Web Designer Premium Installation folder may be damaged

Try this. Go to the program folder, something like C: Program Files > Xara > product version, find the .exe file, right click and select Pin To Taskbar or Pin To Start.

I have many many older versions of Xara products and frequently when I try to open an older version I get a message similar to that and the above is what I do. I think I probably remove the icon from the taskbar first.

That is a useful idea. BUT what I omitted to say was the the re install fails with the Error -1 message at a late stage during the re-install. This causes the install process to rollback. So I haven't got an installation any more.

Ah. Possibly right click on install icon and try Run as Administrator?

Also, I wonder if your anti virus/security software might be interfering? I use Webroot Anywhere and from time to time it has blocked certain files from installing. Usually ones that let Xara check for updates, etc. when you open the app.