Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Smithville, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    462

    Default Creating A Forum

    Designer Pro X365: I'm curious, do we (Xara) have a Widget for creating and editing forums? I'm going to need one soon. Thanks
    Wichitaito: "Everything is Everything"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    34,194

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    No. But there are third party forum solutions. But you would have to add them as a link or possible using the Embed a Website widget.

    Here are the results of a quick search https://duckduckgo.com/?q=forum+software&t=ffsb&ia=web
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Smithville, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    Thanks Gary I was afraid of that. However I will pursue your thoughts and see what I can come up with. As always, thanks.
    Wichitaito: "Everything is Everything"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    34,194

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    You're most welcome. There are some good web based solution out there that offer a lot of flexibility. Let us know what direction you take. It will help other members.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Currently New York State
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    Gilbert,

    I answered this in another post that may be helpful. See post #5

    https://www.talkgraphics.com/showthr...ht=#post573189

    Let me know if this is what you want.

    Ray

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Currently New York State
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    Gilbert,

    I just reread your post and it said forum and I thought you were talking about forms. Did you mean forum as in like here at Talkgraphics because if that is the case then Xara is not the proper software for this.

    Ray

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Smithville, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    That is a doggonit R! I do thank you for your thought, and if that's the case then I'll have to go back to HTML, etc. I've gotten lazy in my old age and didn't want to do that again; also it's been a long time and a lot of things have changed. I haven't completely learned everything I want to in Xara itself, or Proshow..and I could bore you with all the what elses. If you have further thoughts or suggestions I'd love to hear. Thanks again.
    Wichitaito: "Everything is Everything"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    On Lake Erie near Windsor, Ontario.
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    Quote Originally Posted by RKissane View Post
    Gilbert,

    I just reread your post and it said forum and I thought you were talking about forms. Did you mean forum as in like here at Talkgraphics because if that is the case then Xara is not the proper software for this.

    Ray
    Could you not, as I believe Gary was implying, embed a link in a placeholder, opening an off-site forum in a new window or tab? I think I'll try this, as it seems like an interesting project. Or, do you think I'm wasting my time?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    6,599

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    Quote Originally Posted by Windjamer View Post
    Could you not, as I believe Gary was implying, embed a link in a placeholder, opening an off-site forum in a new window or tab? I think I'll try this, as it seems like an interesting project. Or, do you think I'm wasting my time?
    Go for it.
    If you have cpanel web hosting through your ISP perhaps consider adding one of the available Forums or BBs there (under One-click Installs).
    These would be added to your domain so are not "external". You would still link into it through a Placeholder.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    On Lake Erie near Windsor, Ontario.
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Creating A Forum

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Go for it.
    If you have cpanel web hosting through your ISP perhaps consider adding one of the available Forums or BBs there (under One-click Installs).
    These would be added to your domain so are not "external". You would still link into it through a Placeholder.

    Acorn
    Do you know if these are available on the Magix host, Acorn? I want to add a forum to the web I have there, though I will likely eventually move it to a secure host.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •