Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: language tag

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default language tag

    Hi:

    W3C suggests adding the document language tag to the <html> statement. e.g. <html lang="en">. Aside from exporting the html file and uploading, I don't see how to add this tag. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,782

    Default Re: language tag

    Open Web Properties / Website / HTML Code Head.

    Paste in the required tag

    Okay & Apply.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sts.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	73.3 KB 
ID:	119714  
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: language tag

    Thanks, but I tried that. When uploaded, the code appears at the end of the <head> section as a stray start tag. It needs to be in the first line <html> tag.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    7,322

    Default Re: language tag

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    Open Web Properties / Website / HTML Code Head.
    Paste in the required tag
    Okay & Apply.
    Sorry Egg, what that does is add the above as a second non-terminating HTML tag, which is wrong and might not have the desired effect.

    I recall a solution for things like this but it is back in the Soquili Epoch so I cannot locate it at present.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: language tag

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	w3c.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	29.0 KB 
ID:	119717
    Thanks, I attempted to upload an image here, not sure if it worked. I already tried adding <html lang="en"> to the header as you suggested, but the code appears at the end of the header as a stray start tag.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	w3c.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	27.1 KB 
ID:	119716  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    7,322

    Default Re: language tag

    You could try adding:
    <script>$(document).ready(function() {
    $("html").attr("lang", "en");
    });
    </script>
    into the Page Head code.

    You probably need a Name UsesJQuery added to an object on the page as well.

    The source still shows <html> but the rendered page code inspection shows <html lang="en"> so I don't know if this is clever enough to convince your W3C validator.

    Acorn

    P.S. I reasoned that in XDPX there is an option under the Spell Checker for the Document Language, which should do the necessary. I changed all my text to English (U.K.) but nothing appeared in the code. I am adding this as a request to the Dear Xara... Forum.
    Last edited by Acorn; 02 January 2018 at 09:06 PM.
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: language tag

    Thanks Acorn. I also looked at the Spell Checker / Document Language. I agree that that should result in the necessary code. Thanks for submitting your request.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,782

    Default Re: language tag

    Yes, you're correct Acorn. I believe this code should be in the html declaration. There's no way to do this in Xara at present.

    I think it should be:

    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="fr">
    <head>
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: language tag

    Hi,

    I've passed this request on as per Acorn's request in the Dear Xara forum https://www.talkgraphics.com/showthr...ument-Language. It looks like it will depend on how many people this is a problem for as to whether it is implemented or not.

    Thanks,
    Stephen

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    7,322

    Default Re: language tag

    Quote Originally Posted by stephenh View Post
    Hi,

    I've passed this request on as per Acorn's request in the Dear Xara forum https://www.talkgraphics.com/showthr...ument-Language. It looks like it will depend on how many people this is a problem for as to whether it is implemented or not.

    Thanks,
    Stephen
    Thank you Stephen for passing this on, W3C seems to think it is important for HTML5: https://www.w3.org/International/que...e-declarations.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •