Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

This past Friday I was invited to speak to the students in a new Art Careers program at the high school from which I graduated 27 years ago. An interesting question came up in the discussion following my presentation:

"How did your education from design school/college fail you in preparing you for a career as a graphic designer?"

Having been out of college 21 years I think I have overcome most of the issues of not being prepared for a design career. However, I would be very interested in the experiences of others.

- Jeff

Jeff Fisher
    Engineer of Creative Identity

Jeff Fisher LogoMotives
    http://www.jfisherlogomotives.com

This is a really interesting slant to the whole Q&A deal - I hope you get some feedback that's just AS interesting. Especially since I'm pondering making a return to school myself.

Hey Jeff, I'm a student right now but I'm starting to see some areas that might not work out later.

I find that the school wants to keep jumping to the next latest thing in technology from print to HTML to Flash to 3D etc instead of teaching us the hard core principals of design. for example the program doesn't offer a color theory class at all.

It seems kind of annoying to learn how to how to make an image in the 5 newest programs if my image regardless of the medium can't communicate the right idea.

Sorry I'm venting but its a great question and i hope its making some people think a bit.

-graphixboy

Graphixboy -

I'm not surprised by your response at all. I posted this question on several design forums and have gotten a lot of feedback.