Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,874

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    My internet provider is BT and they provide McAffee AV Phil.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,874

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    Okay Phil. Closed Xara. Rebooted my machine, had to re-import all the Local Design Galleries (again!).

    Load time of the Options window is back to 20+ seconds. Internet tab back to the same delay.

    Next I'll try uninstalling / reinstalling but I don't hold out much hope,
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,874

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    That was fun, I had issues finding my installation product code on the new Magix products page but eventually got there

    As expected, the Options window takes far to long to load again. The Internet tab same same. My plugin folder remains empty. Fortunately the Local Design Gallery remained populated. The cpu usage remains high.

    Hope this helps.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    North Tawton, UK
    Posts
    1,118

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    Hi Egg,

    If you're up for it, could you try the following, please?

    Switch to the old light grey interface and see if the Options dialog is quicker to open in that mode. Remember that you will lose all your bar configurations when you make the switch and when you switch back to the darker interface but I'm sure you've got the technology to backup and restore them!

    Thanks,

    Phil

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,948

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    Phil, would the above experiment also work when temporarily removing the xaradark_theme.xml file (C:\Program Files\Xara\Xara Designer Pro X\12) and restarting the program? That way, Egg wouldn't lose his current configuration.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,874

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    Hi again Phil,

    Here's the steps I took.

    I changed it to light interface.
    Didn't seem to make ant difference first thing
    Still a lot of cpu action & slow load Options.
    Emptied the Internet Cache.
    Closed & restarted XDPX

    This is the outcome.
    Tiny to zero use of cpu with no docs open
    Open a new doc
    Similar small to zero cpu action
    Opened the Options window Loaded in 3 secs on the Internet Tab.
    Changed to General Tab. Closed, reopened.
    Loads in 1 sec
    Next I'll change back to the Dark Side and see the results.

    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,874

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    Toggling between the two. Appears to have fixed the slow Options window display but NOT the cpu usage.

    Last edited by Egg Bramhill; 08 November 2017 at 03:44 PM.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,874

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    .
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dark-side-2.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	114.8 KB 
ID:	119261  
    Last edited by Egg Bramhill; 08 November 2017 at 04:17 PM.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    North Tawton, UK
    Posts
    1,118

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    Thanks Egg,

    I was hoping that disabling the dark UI might give a much clearer improvement than that. The Options dialog still looks horribly slow to me!

    On the CPU usage front: We may have made a breakthrough on that problem. If it works it will be in an upcoming release - we'll let you know.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,874

    Default Re: Xara & CPU usage

    Thanks for the update Phil.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •