Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Test php code

  1. #1

    Default Test php code

    I went through some old posts in this forum on the possibility to include php code into a placeholder.

    First, I published the website to my php server (a wordpress provider) and as test, I simply added <?php echo “hello world”;?> to my gallery page and renamed that to *.php on the server.

    Of course this did not work, I know what I am trying is way too simplistic. But could someone give me a hint how I could get this to work ?

    I've read somewhere you would need to configure two index files, one *.htm and another *.php ? Or should I rename all my files to *.php ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,308

    Default Re: Test php code

    On the page create a rectangle and with it still selected Web Properties / Placeholder / Body and paste in your simple php test code.

    Publish to your server as an html page. Test. It won't work on the Xara Preview obviously.

    http://www.parkeston.com/php-test/index.htm
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  3. #3

    Default Re: Test php code

    I have put a rectangle on my welcome/index page with the code, also the same on another page, but nothing visible happens. My site works as usual, but nothing seems to happen. It's as if I modified nothing at all. To make sure nothing goes wrong during the publication I put some text on the page and this appears ok.

    I gave the rectangle a colour and brought it to front, but nothing. I did not rename any pages to *.php neither

    Could it be that the rectangle I created is hidden ?

    (As a further check I also posted your rectangle on 3 pages, also nothing)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Knipsel10.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	82.9 KB 
ID:	119151  
    Last edited by joicol; 28 October 2017 at 02:56 PM. Reason: add st

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    39,058

    Default Re: Test php code

    Egg - Does joicol's web host have to support .php?
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,308

    Default Re: Test php code

    Yes, but I assume it did from what he said.

    Can you attach your home page joicol? I'll upload it to my server to test it.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  6. #6

    Default Re: Test php code

    I published the website in a sub-folder of my wordpress blog, so php should be enabled. I have attached the index file.

    I had to rename index-kopie.htm to *.xar because chrome blocks the upload.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by joicol; 28 October 2017 at 05:43 PM. Reason: attachment

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,737

    Default Re: Test php code

    You have to save the index page in your Xara app to a .xar file and not first export it to .htm.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Test php code

    Save as .xar ? Where ? I can only save as .web under File - save as

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,308

    Default Re: Test php code

    Xara has two default file extensions. You either save as a .web file or a .xar file dependent on the Xara software you're using. Either file type can be opened by you're software. So please post your .web file
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  10. #10

    Red face Re: Test php code

    ok, here we go

    I am struggling with uploading *.web. No matter what I do, it does not want attach it.

    Manage attachments - Add - Upload

    Wow, what a struggle. It was because of the max. file size.
    Attached Files Attached Files

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •