Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Named Objects and linking to them

    I'm having two issues with linking to named objects.

    1) I have a button that links to a named object. I updated the Web Properties on the button to make the link. I selected Link to Anchor and picked the Named Object. So I believe that is all good. I then shared the object with all variants. When I hover over the object in a variant, the popup message shows Link to Anchor: and the right object. However when I look at the Web properties / Link the Link to Anchor button is pushed but the dropdown box is empty - it doesn't show the object. If I click on the dropdown box, none of my named objects are there. If I preview the website, the button on the variant just takes me back to the top of the current page and not to the named object on the other variant web page.

    2) If I preview the website on the main (not variant) page and click on the button, I'm take to the proper page but not to the proper position on the page. The named object I'm linking to is off the bottom of the screen and I need to scroll to I. I thought the link was supposed to scroll the object into view.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,422

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Hi Donald,

    Without seeing your web/xar file I couldn't say exactly what's going on but ensure that the named anchors are on both variants and that they are on the page, not the pasteboard.

    If you still have issues attach your web/xar file.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    6,593

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    Hi Donald,

    Without seeing your web/xar file I couldn't say exactly what's going on but ensure that the named anchors are on both variants and that they are on the page, not the pasteboard.

    If you still have issues attach your web/xar file.
    Egg, I don't think it is as simple as that. HTML and javascript work to the first mention of an identifier. If you have three Variants and you have three mentions of the same ID then only the first one is recognised. If it happens to be in a hidden div, all that happens is the page jumps to the top.
    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,422

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Not sure about that Acorn. Attached is a web page with two variants. I've reversed the relative positions of the two anchors in the mobile variant and it still works as expected in preview.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Egg Bramhill; 01 October 2017 at 01:48 PM. Reason: Re-attached correct xar file
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    6,593

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Egg, thank you for the example.

    Xara accepts the Name of egg for the Main variant and then mangles it into Xxr_v2_egg for the variant.
    This is a good thing as it overcomes my mistaken belief that it was not being handled.

    I have followed Donald's instructions as to how he has created his anchors and links and I cannot duplicate the problem.
    We need your design file.

    I have learned my lesson in spouting out without checking; I was away for the day.
    I have just checked across Variants, pages and Supersites of all types and everything works as you would expect.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My current Xara software: XDPX365, XDPX11 (32/64-bit), WD365 Premium, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,422

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Ah, I got something right Thanks for the clarification Acorn.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Going to named anchors seems to work just fine when the anchor is on the same page. However, if the named anchor is on another page, the page is loaded but not scrolled down to show the anchor.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    17,422

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Can you attach a web file showing this behavior Donald. It works fine for me.
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 16 GB / 240 GB Kingston SSD / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 10 / 64 Bit /
    Xara Designer Pro X (12 or 365)


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Unfortunately I can't share the file. Its for an Intranet website that contains some propriety information. I'll try to clean it up and see if I can upload it. But thanks for the quick reply!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Named Objects and linking to them

    Here is a file that I can share. It's a template that I'm using from XaraTemplates.com.

    Click on the button "Goto Hike Anchor on Training Page". On the training page there is a picture of a hiker towards the bottom of the page. On the [Main] variant, I added the name "Hike". This picture is shared with all variants, but the name does not appear on the [Wide] and [Mobile] variants. When I preview any of the variants and click on the Goto Hike button, they all take me to the right Training page but do not scroll down to the picture.
    Attached Files Attached Files

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •