Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Making mobile photo 100% width

First off, thank you for any help.

I'm a long time web developer, and I'm messing around with Xara. I really like it, but I can't figure out how to make my mobile variant automatically size a photo to the width of the screen.
    I searched for an answer to this and can't seem to find anything.

I'm creating a comic website and I'd like my images to be able to display full width on the PC and be able to be zoomed on a phone.
    So I spoke to a fellow developer and he said "Thumbnails are OK on the PC, but don't have them have to click a thumbnail on a mobile device" and suggested that I just set the width to 100%, and "the height should just follow". This sounded correct. It works in standard html/css.

So I dropped a few pics on the page (not using any widgets), and when I am in the PC (not mobile) site and I right click the photo in Xara Web designer, and go to image properties, I set the image to Pop-up photo with a width of 1280px which is the full width of the photo.

When I'm in the mobile variant, I uncheck this option and stretch the photo to 100%, because if not then the photo appears on the screen 100% width, and it's cut half height.
    If I go back to the PC page it's unchecked. I think it's the link that's messing it up.

I know someone had done this before. Do I need to unlink the photos between variants and treat them as separate objects on the page?
    I really don't want to create 2 sites. I'm used to using media queries in work and having 1 page.

What's the best way of having thumbnails on the PC and full width photos on the mobile in Xara?

Default Re: Making mobile photo 100% width

You can set an unShared photo in your Mobile Variant by right-clicking and set its Sticky/Stretchy Properties to Sticky, Full width or height and Scale stretched object, Origin Centre.

This appears behind the Page Background so you need to hide objects or apply a Transparency.