Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default How to optimise website?

Hello!

I am trying to optimise my website and after analysing it using a couple of online sites I seem to get the same few suggestions each time. If you could explain how I would do the following things then I would be very grateful, I'm not a web expert so treat me like a simpleton! I'm currently using web designer premium

- Leverage browser caching (I know you're supposed to place some code in a htaccess file but I have no idea where to find that...)

- Eliminate render-blocking JavaScript and CSS in above-the-fold content - Your page has 2 blocking script resources and 8 blocking CSS resources. This causes a delay in rendering your page

- Minify CSS

- Enable compression. (I have optimised all the images, I assume that compressing them is something additional that I need to do but don't know how)

Thank you

Default Re: How to optimise website?

Welcome to TalkGraphics Louise

I am unable to answer any of these questions. This is why we have members who know so much more than I do. Check back and see what others suggest.

Quote Originally Posted by Louisew View Post
    Hello!

I am trying to optimise my website and after analysing it using a couple of online sites I seem to get the same few suggestions each time. If you could explain how I would do the following things then I would be very grateful, I'm not a web expert so treat me like a simpleton! I'm currently using web designer premium

- Leverage browser caching (I know you're supposed to place some code in a htaccess file but I have no idea where to find that...)

- Eliminate render-blocking JavaScript and CSS in above-the-fold content - Your page has 2 blocking script resources and 8 blocking CSS resources. This causes a delay in rendering your page

- Minify CSS

- Enable compression. (I have optimised all the images, I assume that compressing them is something additional that I need to do but don't know how)

Thank you