Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default How to recolor 16 color image to other 16 color palette?

Hi!

I'm newbie here and in graphics too.
    I'm working with graphics for retro computers.

I have images in 16 color 'near' CGA palette.
    I need to recolor it to similar 16 color also 'near' CGA palette.
    Reason is simple - rendering tool for transfering images requires exact color to produce single color filled parts - if color doesn't match it uses Floyd Steinberg dithering to create as near as possible color.
    But when images with resolution 256x192 are converted to 480x360 is not enough space for dithering and it's high quality loss. Of course there are also typical retro computer color cells - in one color cell 8x1 pixel - so in 8 pixels horizontally - can be 2 colors only. It's for 4-bit colors - one color for low nibble and one color for high nibble = 8 bits = 8 pixels wide.
    So, best result I can have by recoloring image from one to 2nd color palette. Both palettes are high similar, so I mean (here's I'm not sure) that there can be created tolerance limit when recoloring...

Qs is nothing more nothing less than: How to recolor images from one to 2nd color palette? I need help 'cause I'm beginner.
    I found this forum 'cause on two other forums I got answer: So, why you want to do it?...
    So, I hope that anybody helps me.
    Thank you all for all.
    Miro

Default Re: How to recolor 16 color image to other 16 color palette?

Welcome to TalkGraphics

I am not sure how this wold be done. We have come so far and 16 color. 32, 64, and 256 color palettes are archaic.

You should be able to disable dithering in a bitmap editing program.

Problem with dithering is that I'm not program creator and don't have sources...
    I know that low count color palettes are archaic, but look back ~30 years and you will see what were 16 colors...

Miro

First step would be to create CGA pallette colours and add them to pallette.