Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Question Do new shapes always have to appear on top of a selected layer?

Hi, im new to xara designer and I love the speed and a couple of other things about it. The problem I have is when creating new shape it always appears on the top of a selected layer, not on the top of a selected shape. This forces me to either create separate layer for each shape I want to base clip view on or drag new shape back where I want them (which is always on top of selected shape) every time I create one. This slows down my process so much and I can't find any setting to make new or duplicated shapes appear on top of a previously selected one. Another problem I have is not being able to create a group inside a group. Could you please tell me whether it's possible to:
    1. make new/duplicated shape appear on top of last selected shape
    2. make a group inside a group?

Default Re: Do new shapes always have to appear on top of a selected layer?

Welcome to TG Twinsen.

I'm not 100% sure I understand your question but if you want a shape appear on top of a selected shape, select it and hit Ctrl + K which makes a clone of that shape above the original. No need to keep adding layers. You can also use Shift + Ctrl + F or Shift + Ctrl + B to send it one step further in front or further back.

Yes it's quite simple to make a group within a group.
    Egg

Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

Thanks for reply, it must be problem with my software then (Xara Photo & Graphic Designer trial) since when I press Ctrl + K clone appears 40 shapes above original one on top of a layer and I can't group shapes inside a group. Is it possible that Xara Photo & Graphic Designer trial doesn't have these features?