Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Printed Magazine AND Website Navigation

Hi,

I've not posted on this site before (as far as I know) though I did infrequently on the old Xara site. I found it particularly useful when I 'couldn't see the wood for the trees'.

That's the situation now. I produce a couple of websites using Xara Designer Pro and a printed magazine using the same. I'm not a complete beginner but I don't use the program professionally so there are many aspects of the program which I don't use.

The club magazine is printed and also uploaded as a pdf to the issuu site where it can be read as a (password protected) flip-book.

There are some disadvantages of the issuu flip-book and I did try exporting the magazine as a supersite to see what that was like. It was fine except that navigation between pages was inconvenient - there was no way of returning to the start, for example. I need some navigation buttons.

So my questions are these : What's the best/easiest way to upload the magazine as a navigable website? Can I add a layer to each page with the navigation buttons which I then choose not to print when producing printed copies? Should I make these navigation buttons sticky so that I can keep them out of the way and don't need to redesign the magazine?

If past history is anything to go by I might be missing something obvious - wood and trees!

Any suggestions are more than welcome.

Ian

Default Re: Printed Magazine AND Website Navigation

Hi Ian

Probably the best way is to post the PDF. All of the pages are in order and your visitors can go through the document as their leisure.

Unless there is a specific reason for making a website.

Hi Gary

That's very good point - wood and trees indeed! Just at the moment can't think of a good reason why it should be a website - I'll keep the brain cells on the job.

Ian