Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Variant and Text

Hi all,

I am not a web designer and purchased Xara to build a website for my wife's new small (as in me and her) business that we are trying to get going. The site will be VERY basic and maybe I can add more cool stuff as I learn but for now I just want a working site up to get us going.

The first issue I have run into is that I create text on the main variant page and it does not fit on the mobile variant. When I resize it in the mobile variant (by selecting it with the selector tool and dragging the corners), it resizes in the main variant. According to the documentation, sizing should not change.

I am sure I am misunderstanding this and doing something wrong but cannot figure out what.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Steven

Default Re: Variant and Text

Steven, a big welcome to you from TalkGraphics.

If you are dragging the corners while using the Select Tool, you are resizing the font size and as the text and styles are live-shared you will get the same change in Main. To change the shape of the text box, you use the inner selectors (mid-points) instead.

To be more in control, switch to the Text Tool and use the corner selectors that it presents (red squares on the corners of a red dashed box).

I would use Utilites > Website variants > Stop sharing with variants to give yourself more control over font, size and layout.

Compliments to your business partner in her choice of website design package.

Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

Acorn,