Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    20

    Default Linking 2 Navbars

    Hi,

    I have a two identical navbars at the top and bottom of each page. (What I did was copy the top one originally) What I would like to happen is when I edit the top navbar and save it I would like the bottom navbar to update also. Is there a way to link these two (identical) navbars to together?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,495

    Default Re: Linking 2 Navbars

    I don't think so.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    38,018

    Default Re: Linking 2 Navbars

    I tried making a duplicate bar and then modifying the first and it did not work on the second. I tried Live Copy and this did not work either.

    So, if your second nav bar is set to repeat on all pages, then you need to make the same edits to the duplicate bar. There might be a way to do this that I am missing, but none that comes to mind for me.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Bella Vista, AR
    Posts
    52

    Default Re: Linking 2 Navbars

    If they are absolutely identical, then I would probably do the following:

    - Delete navbar B
    - Make my changes to navbar A
    - Copy/Paste navbar A into navbar B's position


    It's not automatic, but making the changes in one place is probably the safer idea, IMO

    HTH

    Jack

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,311

    Default Re: Linking 2 Navbars

    Jack's approach is the sanest for a strange request.

    Do your NavBars have submenus?
    If so, your submenus will fall off the bottom of the page and Xara will have calculated the excess drop needed and add more Pasteboard to compensate.
    This would probably upset the aesthetic of your design.

    If your navigation does not use submenus then you can create a line of buttons instead and repeat on all pages.

    You cannot combine a Live Copy with a Repeat on all pages as, I believe, Xara has excluded this to avoid a coding clash as the techniques being used are the same.

    for interest, Xara's button designs are invariably grouped objects so the text, while editable in Xara, ends up as a graphic part of the button. I prefer using CSS3 or my own soft-group designs for buttons and CSS3 NavBars as they are cleaner.

    Do come back with how you solved your design.

    All the best,
    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Linking 2 Navbars

    Thanks Jack, that will work. Although not automatic, it will be easy.

    Thanks Again

    Quote Originally Posted by RistonRants View Post
    If they are absolutely identical, then I would probably do the following:

    - Delete navbar B
    - Make my changes to navbar A
    - Copy/Paste navbar A into navbar B's position


    It's not automatic, but making the changes in one place is probably the safer idea, IMO

    HTH

    Jack

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •