Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default For current Web Design users - is Xara a good choice?

I've been using NetObjects Fusion for the past 15 years, but they have not developed any responsive web design software, so I need another option. It would really help me out if those of you who are current users of Xara Web Design could give me your opinions of their software and support. I'll be using it for my business, so it must be reliable and produce web pages that are cross-browser compatible (as much as possible). How is the learning curve, and how consistent are the updates and new releases? Do you feel that the company is responsive when you have issues? Do the responsive sites you have developed with the software behave as expected across different devices? Any information would be helpful before I commit to a design platform. Thanks!

Default Re: For current Web Design users - is Xara a good choice?

For the full answer I would point you to the link below as the question has already been asked.

http://board.xara-users.info/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=7361
    Flawless Form. Faultless Function. Crafted by Cloud

https://www.cloudwebagency.co.uk

You could load the templates and see how they respond when shrinking your browser to different widths to see examples.
    http://www.xara.com/us/web-designer/templates/

Xara really need to make clear that the sites produced with the software are Adaptive and not responsive, there is a clear distinction between the two types and this needs to be made clear. Personally I find that as long as you are creating a simple brochure type (i.e. static) site then xara is fine, but be aware that you will find that clients are far more savvy now than they used to be so fully responsive will crop up as will the need for a dynamic site for blogs or ecommerce. The ideal solution is (if you really want to use xara) to use the software according to the needs of the client.

Hi Spiffy,