Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 311121314 LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 137
  1. #121
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,019

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Quote Originally Posted by Egg Bramhill View Post
    The BIOS dosen't load faster, but once past that the OS loads far faster
    Hi Egg

    the BIOS does not load faster because it is not on the SSD [as you later stated correctly] so its access times are not affected

    you should consider disabling windows disk defragmentation for SSD - SSDs don't suffer the same loss of efficiency when accessing defragmented files as do HDDs
    Click Start and type dfrgui into the search bar
    Select your SSD and click on Configure schedule
    Run on a schedule should be unchecked. Be sure to click OK after unchecking it

    also disabling indexing:
    Go to Start and open Computer.
    Right-click your SSD drive and select Properties.
    At the bottom of the disk properties window, uncheck Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties.
    Click OK to save your changes.

    both tweaks will reduce the constant background usage of the SSD an help reduce degredation

    windows search does not need indexation to run - and a third party search such as agent ransack [which I use] is even better

    EDIT - you could try disabling indexing on your other drive[s] too
    Last edited by handrawn; 18 August 2015 at 08:29 AM. Reason: SSD not SDD
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18,019

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    the defrag bit - you won't need to worry about that on win 8/10 as MS have taken care of it, only on win7

    in fact most of the set up issues are dealt with, as you would expect, and you probably don't need to upgrade BIOS either though it might be worth checking that

    but there are still things to do/check; some details:http://www.back2gaming.com/focus-sto...ows-8-and-8-1/

    I am sure steve will give you good advice over at XU
    -------------------------------
    carpe diem
    carpo vitae

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    531

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Thanks for the replies and information as to how to improve the speed, etc. Once I get to the login screen, everything goes much faster. From login to ready to load programs is much, much faster with the SSD than the HD that I had. DPX11 loads very quickly. As for Windows 10, I think that I'll wait awhile. There still seems to be too many problems being reported.

    My only complaint about X11 is still the animation interface with Movie Edit Pro and Video Pro X7 not working correctly. The background video doesn't advance with the frames, and the animation is not returned to the video, only a static image.

    I did notice another problem with animation, export to avi. No matter which frame rate that I put in the properties, it always exports at 24 fps. I'm away from home so I can't check this, but I was wondering if anyone else has noticed this. I watched XaraXhris' excellent animation tutorial and he indicated that the frame rate could be changed. However, the result for me is always 24 fps in the avi. I want 29.97 or 30.

    Thanks,
    John

  4. #124

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Quote Originally Posted by browj2 View Post
    I did notice another problem with animation, export to avi. No matter which frame rate that I put in the properties, it always exports at 24 fps. I'm away from home so I can't check this, but I was wondering if anyone else has noticed this. I watched XaraXhris' excellent animation tutorial and he indicated that the frame rate could be changed. However, the result for me is always 24 fps in the avi. I want 29.97 or 30.
    It seems locked at 25 fps when uncompressed. When set to something like Microsoft Video 1 compression, the set frame rate is honoured on export, so try that.

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    531

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Hi Xhris,

    Thanks for your reply. I wasn't sure if it was 24 or 25 and couldn't check. Still can't; I'm out camping. I was using uncompressed as the other ones seemed to have a problem, don't remember with what. I'll check when I get home next week and try your suggestion.

    Thanks again for the reply and the super tutorials.
    John

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Noo Yawk
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    My PC used to take anywhere from 3-8 minutes to get from powered off to a usable desktop (fortunately Sleep mode worked a lot better in that regard), now it boots up in under 30 seconds. Most of that was thanks to the SSD, but also not needing to use DisplayFusion any more really helped, as Win10 has built in support for displaying the taskbar on multiple monitors.

    -- Ben
    -----------------------
    Ben Morgan: ad1066 AT gmail thingy
    Chapter 13 Press: www.chapter13press.com
    Burn After Reading: www.burnafterreadingpress.com

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    757

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Hi,

    I had some problem registering XAR files to V11, it always opened with V10, even when pointing to V11 in "open with" context menu.
    Had to reinstall a couple of time.

    Does anybody know how to change the anchor point size?
    I've found the registry for the selection blobs but not anchors.

    Xareg doesnt appear to work in that regard.
    It's kinda hard to work with tiny little anchors at high resolution.

    Marc
    ________________________________
    Illustrations

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,061

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Thanks for that handrawn, I'll have a look at that when I get my machine back.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Quadro 2000 Graphics Card + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 17 + Xara 3D Maker 7

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    757

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Just sorted out the blob/points it works ok now.
    I must have done something wrong before.

    Marc
    ________________________________
    Illustrations

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Noo Yawk
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: Just Release: Xara Designer Pro X11

    Just got XDP11 activated properly on my main desktop PC. Seems to load up in a reasonably short amount of time. Good to go.

    -- Ben
    -----------------------
    Ben Morgan: ad1066 AT gmail thingy
    Chapter 13 Press: www.chapter13press.com
    Burn After Reading: www.burnafterreadingpress.com

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •