Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Smithville, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    585

    Default Shape Tool and Points

    X10: Let's say I draw a circle, hit the Shape Tool and it gives me four points. Is there a way, maybe with the keyboard to create four more points evenly?
    Wichitaito: "Everything is Everything"

  2. #2

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    I don't think there's a way to add the points the way you describe it, but I could be wrong since I have P&GD 2013
    One way I would do it is this:

    1. Create a circle
    2. Clone the circle (Ctrl-k)
    3. Select the Quickshape tool and click on polygon and star (4 sides)
    4. The Star points should be right were you would add the points to the circle, if not, yull probably need to rotate it 45 degrees
    5. Convert the circle to shapes and click to add to points where 4 sides of the star meet the circle

  3. #3

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    If you mean you want to add nodes in between the existing nodes, it would be nice if like in some other applications there was an add node (point) which is customary for those applications to split the distance between the node clicked on and the next node.

    But you can use the line tool to draw a vertical and a horizontal line, both longer than the circle. Group them. Rotate 45 degrees. Then select the circle, select the shape editor, click on the circle where the lines cross.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    StPeters, MO USA
    Posts
    9,645

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    Thanks Mike,

    That was my thought too.
    Larry a.k.a wizard509

    Never give up. You will never fail, but you may find a lot of ways that don't work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,342

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    Here is a construction you can play with:

    With the Ellipse Tool, hold the Ctrl key down and with the Radius or Diameter constraint, draw a red 200 pt circle with zero rotation.
    Clone it and colour it green.
    With the green circle still selected, switch to the QuickShape Tool and select a Polygon with 8 straight sides.
    You should now have a green octogon sitting inside a red circle.

    Click drag the centre point of one of the edges radially outwards so it touches the circle circumference.
    You should now have a green rounded QuckShape coincident with your red circle.

    Delete the red circle.
    Clone the green shape.
    Use Combine Shapes > Add Shapes to get a final Shape with 8 control points that are equidistant and looks like a green circle.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,612

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    I've no idea why this works and just tried it as an experiment. However, strangely enough it does exactly what you require. Go figure

    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  7. #7

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    Here is a construction you can play with:

    With the Ellipse Tool, hold the Ctrl key down and with the Radius or Diameter constraint, draw a red 200 pt circle with zero rotation.
    Clone it and colour it green.
    With the green circle still selected, switch to the QuickShape Tool and select a Polygon with 8 straight sides.
    You should now have a green octogon sitting inside a red circle.

    Click drag the centre point of one of the edges radially outwards so it touches the circle circumference.
    You should now have a green rounded QuckShape coincident with your red circle.

    Delete the red circle.
    Clone the green shape.
    Use Combine Shapes > Add Shapes to get a final Shape with 8 control points that are equidistant and looks like a green circle.

    Acorn
    Do a four sided version. The points are in between the existing four points, for a total of 8 points, which is what Giddyup wanted in his OP. Then add shapes.

    Egg, still cannot see your video. YouTube says it is still processing it.


    ***Edit to add. If the circle is cloned, then changed to a polygon, then to have four corners/sides, there is no need to drag nodes. It is aligned to the circumference of the circle.***

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,612

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    Hi Mike, I know. YouTube normally processes a video in a matter of a few minutes but today it's taking almost an hour for one I did earlier.

    EDIT: Live now Mike
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    Posts
    953

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    Hi Gil,

    Another way to solve it...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	eight.jpg 
Views:	165 
Size:	37.1 KB 
ID:	108180
    ~Fred

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,342

    Default Re: Shape Tool and Points

    Quote Originally Posted by mwenz View Post
    Do a four sided version. The points are in between the existing four points, for a total of 8 points, which is what Giddyup wanted in his OP. Then add shapes.

    Egg, still cannot see your video. YouTube says it is still processing it.


    ***Edit to add. If the circle is cloned, then changed to a polygon, then to have four corners/sides, there is no need to drag nodes. It is aligned to the circumference of the circle.***
    My steps move a QuickShape into a Shape.
    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •