Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default First Post: Hello: Big Files

H All,

I am new to the community and this is my first post on this forum. I am a designer (intern architect) and teacher (teach UXD/IA grad courses) and researcher. I use Adobe CC but am transitioning to Xara/Krita because I don't like Adobe's subscription model and I find that there are very good tools for less money and with more favorable licensing terms.

Anyway, I've been slowly acclimating to Xara for drawing for a while and I am pleasantly surprised that it seems to handle large files very well. I have quite a large sketch page going (approx. 30x40") and have it filled with sketches and notes and there is zero lag in the brush strokes. In illustrator, I have traditionally had lagging brush strokes when files get this large.

Have others had a positive experience with Xara handling large files? Any negative experiences with respect to file size?

Thanks,
    Joe

Default Re: First Post: Hello: Big Files

Welcome, Joe.

My only real complaint about page size is just that--I wish it could go larger for some of my work.

I don't use brushes much so I really cannot comment on them on large dimension files. I do come to a point that maxing out a page size and using high resolution bitmaps can begin to tax XDP. But as you note, not like in Illy where lags become very apparent all too quickly.

Much of what I do needs to be returned to the client as AI or PS files. But as much of the drawing that I can do in XDP I do so. Far quicker to get from point a to point b. While I have certain gripes (and express them here all too frequently), there really isn't as good of a bog-standard vector drawing application for the PC as XDP.

Again, welcome.

Mike

Welcome to TalkGraphics Joe

Quote Originally Posted by jmanganelli View Post
    Have others had a positive experience with Xara handling large files? Any negative experiences with respect to file size?