Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Galva, KS, USA
    Posts
    253

    Default My new upgrade to V10

    The web part is great and I'm deep into making web sites for my woodworking. Not ready to show and tell yet. Disappointed no easy curve(b-spline} or twain or dimension tools, which I have asked for over the years. Maybe some day after many dollars of upgrades.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,317

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    Do you mean the just released XWD version 11?
    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Galva, KS, USA
    Posts
    253

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    No refers to Designer Pro X10 and even several versions before that.

  4. #4

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    Version 11 is just around the corner, maybe there will be something there to turn that frown upside down.
    The last time I read anything from Xara re dimension tools was that they are already there on the info bar.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Terherne, Friesland, The Netherlands
    Posts
    311

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    Quote Originally Posted by steve.ledger View Post
    The last time I read anything from Xara re dimension tools was that they are already there on the info bar.
    That left me wondering; does it imply that Xara doesn't see the need to implement dimensioning or does that mean that the feature is almost implemented? I'm inclined to say that Xara uses this answers as an excuse to tell the requesters that it's already fulfilled. What Xara doesn't want to know is that we would like such a tool because we want others to see dimensions as well in the artwork

  6. #6

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    I guess it's easy enough to add them, we have the tools to create anything visual..

  7. #7

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    ...Xara doesn't see the need to implement dimensioning...
    Thus far, no. Xara has not seen fit o give us anything other than the information. We just cannot do anything with that information automatically.

    I don't do a whole lot of dimensioning. I do pick up work from a couple box manufacturers when they are swamped. While I may draw the initial design in XDP, I then take it into AI and use a dimensioning plug-in I have for it, and correct the dims. I could also just use DrawPlus for it as well as it has dimensioning.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    11,317

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    Quote Originally Posted by georgetroy View Post
    No refers to Designer Pro X10 and even several versions before that.
    Had to ask as you haven't advised your products in your profile,
    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Terherne, Friesland, The Netherlands
    Posts
    311

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    Quote Originally Posted by steve.ledger View Post
    I guess it's easy enough to add them, we have the tools to create anything visual..
    Yeah, you're right. But it is cumbersome and once spoiled with CADtools in Illustrator you wished someone could do this for Xara.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Galva, KS, USA
    Posts
    253

    Default Re: My new upgrade to V10

    Showing a simple segmented bowl form with dimensions, also a finished bowl. How hard can it be to put this in the program? This is from Serif Draw Plus 8 which has easy curve, twain and dimensions. I also use Canvas and Coral Draw to layout a plan for segmented bowls, vases and vessels.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mhpot24.jpg 
Views:	80 
Size:	22.5 KB 
ID:	107733   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MapleTbird2.jpg 
Views:	71 
Size:	58.9 KB 
ID:	107734  


 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •