Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    12

    Exclamation Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.....

    Okay, My site is going to be at least 50+ pages, that's probably on the low end. I'm at 19 or 20 pages, I have been regularly uploading it to the magix hosting, so it is at least there. BUT I had an error in Xara web design and when it restarted xara MY ENTIRE SITE was down to one page... one page!!!! I kept trying to reload that file and it's really just one page. Everything is lost. I still need to be able to edit those pages. I'm devastated. I am at least happy I still have the info (hosted) but some are really intricate. UGH!!!!!

    My question is this: Is there a way to take the info from the magix hosting and transfer it BACK to the xara program???? (without doing it manually)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Surrey, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,371

    Default Re: Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.

    Hi, Once the project has been published it is no longer editable in Xara..it is uploaded as HTML document. But you may be able to save the project by loading the last backup file from Xara, it should have the majority of the xar file up to the last autobackup.
    JIM
    Intel i7-2600 processor 3.4GH, Windows 10 64Bit, 12GB Memory, Geforce 960 2Gb graphics card

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    945

    Default Re: Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.

    Make sure you did not set it to a supersite.
    Grace
    http://gracehjs.com/
    Xara Software XDP11

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.

    OH THANK YOU!!!!!! The back up WORKED!!!!! I had it set to back up every 10 minutes, so I only lost 10 minutes of work!!! Oh THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!! I didn't realize it didn't replace these files.

    Gracehjs, It is set as a supersite... what's the problem with that setting? Could that be why I got the error in the first place?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.

    Consider doing periodic Save As to an incremental filename instead of relying on a back up copy to be viable.

    I typically use _01 etc, appended to the end of the filename.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    38,648

    Default Re: Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.

    At one time or another, the Backups have saved all our bacon.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  7. #7

    Default Re: Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    At one time or another, the Backups have saved all our bacon.
    First thing I do in every application is shut off back-ups.

    I would rather depend on incremental back-ups...which in turn are copied to an external drive twice a day.

    I have seen too many times where someone is depending upon auto-back-ups only to find a file was written corrupted to the drive, a crash happened, and the back-up was also corrupted. Can happen in every software.

    Mike

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    20,106

    Default Re: Freaking out!!! Lost entire site due to error!!! It was uploaded, can I transfer.

    D

    Gracehjs, It is set as a supersite... what's the problem with that setting? Could that be why I got the error in the first place?
    A supersite only creates a single index.htm page. Your pages aren't lost, it's just how supersites work.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •