Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. #21

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Perhaps a little bit off topic but is it possible to convert a normal site to a super site?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Can you mix both a normal website and a supersite? I have some areas of my planned site which would benefit from scrolling down and other areas where one screen page would suffice. Apols for my ignorance.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,376

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Yes, it's possible, but you'd need to create two site and place the first in the root directory and the second in a sub-directory.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Mmm, righty-ho, I'll bear that in mind - I am no web designer. I've got the free trial version and will have a play. Many thanks, Egg.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,376

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    You don't sound convinced but it really isn't to difficult. Get back if you want further help
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    I will do. I'm quite the novice - what's that about a little bit of knowledge being dangerous?
    I'm just considering swapping over to xara from serif. Serif are no longer producing their webplus range.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Good morning, I just checked out the "super site" and think it's very neat and clean. Is this something that can be done in Xara?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    19,376

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Yes, it's quite simple to do it in Xara.
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16GB Ram + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive
    Xara Designer Pro X 16

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Michigan at the moment
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Tried supersite on my website, for My state of California 22 pages long when someone would visit it they would get internal server error message, contacted my hosting company was told the page was to large and was causing the error went back and did conventional site cured my problem so I did like things about supersite but in the end I ended up redoing my whole site as conventional. So for a moderate size site I think it is wonderful, but if it grows in size conventional had to be it for me.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,486

    Default Re: Supersite gallery

    Quote Originally Posted by Gypsyjoe View Post
    Tried supersite on my website, for My state of California 22 pages long when someone would visit it they would get internal server error message, contacted my hosting company was told the page was to large and was causing the error went back and did conventional site cured my problem so I did like things about supersite but in the end I ended up redoing my whole site as conventional. So for a moderate size site I think it is wonderful, but if it grows in size conventional had to be it for me.
    22 pages long does not seem a problem. It might be if it were all hires images and Variants. Xara allows on-line document publishing and these can be 100s of pages long, books in other words.

    CA-page 20 is 110kB, which is big but not excessive. 22 such pages would still only be 2.5MB.
    Your images are typically trivally small but repeated. Using the special Name - filename="imageName" - would reduce these for all your pages' duplicates.

    I would look at your service provider more closely.

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •