Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Why no dxf support in Page & Layout Designer 10?

I am an electronics equipment designer and I have used CorelDraw since v3 but stopped updating at v12 because it was just getting more expensive, more bloated and no more stable. I have it running on Win 7 and Win 8 and it's a bit crashy on the latter which is no surprise, but you gotta try, right?

CorelDraw was always the most brilliant program for importing .dxf or .plt files (plot files are the instructions for an x-y plotter) at precise size so that I could then design artwork to be screen printed on equipment panels.

So I am very surprised and disappointed to find that Page & Layout Designer which is touted as being a credible and affordable alternative to CorelDraw cannot at least import .dxf files! This has to be a major oversight from Xara because dxf is an important CAD file type.

Can anyone suggest where I go from here? I've tried Libre Draw, Inkscape (which has potential, but not without a user manual), and some others, but they all pale in comparison to Corel and Xara Designer IMHO.

Default Re: Why no dxf support in Page & Layout Designer 10?

If you have W7 Professional, you could install the Windows XP emulator and run CD in it.

There are free utilities about but I've no experience of them: http://sharewarebooster.com/dwgconve...converter.html / Vendor by: DWG TOOL Software, Website: http://www.dwgtool.com/index.htm.

Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat