Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Sydney Hills District, Australia.
    Posts
    133

    Default CSS problem with fonts and https://.

    Hi!

    Can someone please help..?!

    I have published a web design to https://nexpay.com.au - the site uses Open Sans across the entire site.

    However, on just about every PC out there, it displays as Times New Roman.

    A web expert friend took a look to see that the CSS font definition (generated by Xara Web Designer 10 Premium) is referring to fonts at a http:// address, not https://.

    The website is defined as https://nexpay.com.au in the web publishing settings.

    Is this a bug? How do I get the CSS fonts to refer to https://?

    Many thanks and regards.



    Ian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    17,809

    Default Re: CSS problem with fonts and https://.

    You have:

    @import url(http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?fami...subset=latin);
    @import url(http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?fami...subset=latin);

    As these are in Google's domain, you have no interest in the protocol used; they are external to your site.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Sydney Hills District, Australia.
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: CSS problem with fonts and https://.

    Hi Acorn,

    Thanks for your quick reply! That being the case, then why aren't the fonts displaying correctly?

    Best regards,


    Ian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    21,910

    Default Re: CSS problem with fonts and https://.

    I suspect it's due to trying to access a non secure site from a secure site. Try this:

    http://www.amixa.com/blog/2012/06/06...cure-messages/
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    17,809

    Default Re: CSS problem with fonts and https://.

    Thanks Egg, so there is an issue with Xara's coding requiring them to render the URL to start with // to allow either http and https connections.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    17,809

    Default Re: CSS problem with fonts and https://.

    Ian, it looks for now you will have to find index_htm_files/xr_fonts.css in your Export folder and FTP that onto your server.
    It is possibly to edit the server file directly but I would make a local copy and FTP that using FileZilla.

    It might work if you add a Website HTML Code (head) of:

    This should come after the call to the XR_fonts.css files so sorting you out.

    Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.
    When we provide assistance, your responses are valuable as they benefit the community. TG Nuggets you might like. Report faults: Xara Cloud+/Pro+/Magix Legacy; Xara KB & Chat

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    21,910

    Default Re: CSS problem with fonts and https://.

    Thanks Egg, so there is an issue with Xara's coding requiring them to render the URL to start with // to allow either http and https connections.
    Cheers Acorn. It seems so and I wouldn't believe it's something Xara can't sort out by the next versions. I notice from the page source that Google anylitics use these shortened url's to Google
    Egg

    Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •