Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Australia: GMT+10
    Posts
    171

    Default How do I add a search function

    I'm currently on day 2 of a 30 day trial of Web Designer 10. Sorry if this is a stupid question.

    Most websites have a "Search" function. Can anyone tell me how to add a Search button or text box to, for example, the beta_2website.web template, preferably at top right corner, e.g. "Home | ... | Blog | About | Search"? http://www.talkgraphics.com/images/smilies/thinking.gif

    I assume that Web Designer 10 can also automatically add the necessary code for searching the current website and/or allow me to select from options, but I can't find it or any reference to it in the help or faq's, etc.

    Dell Vostro 3550 i5 8GB Win7 Pro 32bit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    36,996

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    Welcome to TalkGraphics

    No, Web Designer 10 cannot add a search function natively. But you can use a third party solution such as AddSearch http://www.addsearch.com/

    AddSearch generates a script that you can add to a placeholder (see Help > Index > Placeholder Objects).

    I used AddSearch on this website http://www.placitasartists.com/
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Australia: GMT+10
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    Thanks for that link, unfortunately I have to keep costs down. I was hoping there'd be an internal way to do this, like a simple database word-matching function. I'm surprised that at least a "plain vanilla" search is not built-in.

  4. #4

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    Did you not notice the free version - will do up to 500 pages?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Australia: GMT+10
    Posts
    171

    Thumbs up Re: How do I add a search function

    Oops - no I did not! I stopped scrolling at "Enterprise" http://www.talkgraphics.com/images/smilies/hehe.gif

    Thanks for pointing that out.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    To Gary,
    This seems fine to search my website, but do you known a methode in Web Designer to search in an Excel file (htm-format) that I'm displaying using objectdata code in the placeholder of the object.
    Frank

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    36,996

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    Hi Frank - I do not. But maybe one of the other members will have some suggestions.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    529

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    Quote Originally Posted by gwpriester View Post
    Welcome to TalkGraphics

    No, Web Designer 10 cannot add a search function natively. But you can use a third party solution such as AddSearch http://www.addsearch.com/

    AddSearch generates a script that you can add to a placeholder (see Help > Index > Placeholder Objects).

    I used AddSearch on this website http://www.placitasartists.com/
    Thanks for this link Gary - works perfectly!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    36,996

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    I discovered one drawback to AddSearch however. You are limited to 500 searches. After 500 searches the search function will still work but AddSearch will not index any new pages you add. After that point it's $9US a month if you wish to have your new pages indexed.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    9,652

    Default Re: How do I add a search function

    Quote Originally Posted by GK5 View Post
    To Gary,
    This seems fine to search my website, but do you known a methode in Web Designer to search in an Excel file (htm-format) that I'm displaying using objectdata code in the placeholder of the object.
    Frank
    Frank, a Placeholder sets up a slot where the HTML contents are placed; you draw a box but the export renders the Excel data.
    To a search engine the data is there and searchable so there shouldn't be any problem (other than it is Excel HTML, which is usually very bloated).

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: occasionally serviced XDPX, purposely unserviced XDPX12 & XDPX11 (32/64-bit), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7 and lots of 'permanently-owned' licences back through time (to CC's Artworks)

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •