Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,886

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilM View Post
    This all requires significant programming effort.
    I hated the black UI at first.. but I hate working with one hand tied behind my back even more....
    -------------------------------
    The trouble with political jokes is... they get elected

  2. #12

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    Two years and FOUR program versions later (v.11 -> v.15), and still no HiDPI support, not even in Designer Pro X. Talk about a "professional" program

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,886

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    versions 13 and 14 do not exist - magix jumped directly from 12 to 15 - so that's actually two versions

    can't argue with the two years plus though ...
    -------------------------------
    The trouble with political jokes is... they get elected

  4. #14

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    Again 1 year later, and still no HiDPI support.

    How ridiculous, embarrassing and cringeworthy.

    Meanwhile, and after all these years, we are at a point where Xara, as a supposedly professional graphics suite, can no longer be taken seriously.

    It'll descend into an area of occasional use by kids, hobbyists and retirees this way.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,886

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilM View Post

    What is needed is for the user interface to remain large enough to use (and touch screens usually need bigger UI than desktops, even) while the view onto the drawings is rendered at the best hardware resolution. Furthermore, built-in assumptions about screen resolution being 96dpi on Windows devices have to be changed to respond to the physical device resolution. This all requires significant programming effort.

    Phil
    5 years and 9 months ago....

    the resources have not been there for this, that much is obvious, though it would be a nice surprise if it suddenly happened

    there is a list as long as your arm of things xara can't do each of which might preclude 'pro' status depending on your point of view...

    -------------------------------
    The trouble with political jokes is... they get elected

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SW England
    Posts
    10,129

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by handrawn View Post
    xara can't do each of which might preclude 'pro' status depending on your point of view...
    ...procrastinating?

    Acorn
    Acorn - My currently active Xara software: XDPX (current, v15, v12 & 11 (64-bit)), unserviced XWD Premium 15 & 12, XPGD10, X3D7; lots of licences back through time (to CC's Artworks). If your Post identifies a Xara software fault, please raise it directly with Magix --> support2.magix.com.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    37,395

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    This was first posted January 2014, almost 6 years ago. Sadly, I guess this answers the question.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,886

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
    ...procrastinating?

    Acorn


    you would preclude procrastinating ?

    but - about the time this thread started and, coincidently or not, a few months before the arrival of affinity designer [now 5 years old], someone from xara said on TG that there were not [and never had been] in the business of competing with adobe

    they have changed direction/focus
    -------------------------------
    The trouble with political jokes is... they get elected

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,886

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    looked for the reference I mentioned above but I can't find it

    thing is, xara started out as an on-the-fly design tool, very fast and capable of some amazing results in the right hands...and it still is that, but that in itself was never enough to ensure solid commercial success - hence the tie-up with corel, and then magix

    xara has reinvented itself as xara.gmbh, a venture capital company focused on cloud based services

    resources for the desktop were, and remain, limited - and updates are likely to follow, in general terms, what is required to support said cloud services and remain that way for the forseeable future [cf: the 'squish issue'] - and there is only so much that can be done with a UI with it's roots in the last millennium, without a complete recode as was done by affinity.. which brings us back to what PhilM said in 2014; from xara's point of view that is not the focus at this point in time

    that the way I see it, anyhow
    -------------------------------
    The trouble with political jokes is... they get elected

  10. #20

    Default Re: Support high-DPI monitors

    I can't believe that it seems to be necessary to tutor the manufacturer on this on an internet forum, because they obviously don't know how to fix this -- meanwhile ridiculous -- issue.

    Windows 10 in the meantime is able to display the entire Xara Designer UI natively in high resolution (for example at 200 % dpi) -- only the viewport in which the drawing itself appears remains in low resolution with the respective Windows advanced scaling settings.

    Maybe they can at least fix this part of the issue which certainly shouldn't require recoding the entire user interface.

    Otherwise, everyone with reasonably professional requirements will soon end up switching to Affinity Designer (or some other viable alternative).

    Xara-Magix, mind my words

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •