Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: flag help!

Default flag help!

Hi I'm pretty new to this so please be gentle,

Is it possible to take a flat illustrated flag (ai format) and wrap it into a shape for example I found an image online that someone drew - I really like the way the flags have been 'folded' - Is it possible to draw the basic shape of the flag & then automatically (or even a simple manual method) add a flat flag design to the shape so that it would look 'folded' similar to this guys drawing??

I hope you understand what I mean as I'm not great at explaining things..

Thanks in advance for help.
    Last edited by dw88; 08 December 2013 at 11:39 PM.
    IP

Default Re: flag help!

Is this in support of the Red Hand NI paramilitaries?
    IP

Welcome to TalkGraphics

I might be a lot easier to just recreate the shapes using Illustrator's vector drawing tools. There may be some shaping envelopes you can use to modify a plain rectangle. Someone who is an Illustrator user will know better than I do about this.
    IP

Pauland, that isn't my drawing its something that I picked up in google images to show an example of what im trying to achieve.

Gwpriester, thanks for your reply.. Drawing the flags using tools is what I was hoping to stay away from (if possible) as some flag designs may be a bit more detailed (leading a noob like me to get confused how replicating the folds I aspire to get). Especially since im not artistic enough to draw freehand to trace. Shaping envelopes sounds interesting though, hope someone can point me in the right direction.. Thanks again
    IP

dw88, OK, but unfortunately that's a flag that is of a paramilitary organisation and would be offensive to many people and almost all right-thinking people, so it's quite unsettling to find it being used as an example.

I'd hope it could be changed to an alternative.