Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Webpage with photos downloads slow!

Hello to all! I'm a newbie here and as a Xara software user too!

I've designed my first site just a few days ago where in one of my pages I have about 20 photos of 500x330px (optimised). The thing is that this page downloads very slow.

In IE9, by the way, when I click on the link of that particular page, the link is surounded by the dotted-line rectangle indicating that it is selected but nothing else seems to happen up to the moment the whole page appears. I mean, there isn't any kind of indication that something is downloading -like the animated gif circle goes round and round where the favicon is.

Maybe it's my hosting speed but is there any other way to optimize it? It seems that the browser(?) waits untill all the photos are downloaded in order to appear the whole page at once. So, how can I make it to download the page image by image or progressive?

I hope I'm not asking too much!

[You have to excuse me for my english, I'm not from this neighborhood...]

Default Re: Webpage with photos downloads slow!

I'd suggest you post the URL to your site so we don't have to guess

Sorry... It's the "rock climbing" page.

http://1mation.com/

Yes it does seem very slow.
    The site seems optimised well enough, the photos not oversized or of large data sizes.
    I would re think the use of transitions though as each image is loaded before the transition starts, that's one way of causing delays.

The dotted rectangle around text links is just IE's quirky way to highlight a hyperlink which is clicked.
    Go to a google search and then click and hold any link in the results, you'll see the same.

Hey, thanks for your quick response!

OK, I will re-think myself the use of transitions too, though I don't think that this causes the problem on that page.