Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Showing Layers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5

    Default Showing Layers

    Good evening, at least it's evening here. This shows as my first post but I'm not new to Xara products, I've used every version between Webster up to 7. Currently I use XPGD7. My Problem: I like being able to see my layers all the time but I have to toggle layer visibility on and off every time I start XPGD7. Is there a way I can set anything so that they're visible all the time like in V5? I know a lot can be done via registry tweaks.

    By the way, Frances I've followed all of your tutorials on youtube and have found all of them interesting.
    And Gare, I've followed all of yours too, you're as nutty as a fruitcake (in a good sort of way) and I've enjoyed all of yours too.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    38,043

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    Welcome to TalkGraphics George

    I'll let one of the other users answer this post.
    Gary W. Priester
    Mr. Moderator Emeritus Dude
    , Sir

    gwpriester.com | Custom-Stereograms.com | eyeTricks on Facebook






  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sunshine Coast BC, Canada. In a beautiful part of BC's temperate rainforest
    Posts
    9,864

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    Hello George, Welcome to Talkgraphics

    I'm glad you enjoyed the videos. I'm using Designer Pro X but I think this is the same in P&GD you can show all objects visible by clicking the icon on the top right of the page & layer gallery that looks like a stack of eyes.

    My current Xara software: Designer Pro 365 12.6

    Good Morning Sunshine.ca | Good Morning Sunshine Online(a weekly humorous publication created with XDP and exported as a web document) | Angelize Online resource shop | My Video Tutorials | My DropBox |
    Autocorrect: It can be your worst enema.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    Yes, I knew about the eyes but i still have to right click 'Show layer level' every time I start P&GD. It would be good if I could turn layers on by default every time I start P&GD. If it's not possible then it isn't and I'll work with it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    Hi George, Welcome to TalkGraphics.

    I'm not aware of a registry entry that will expand the Page and Layer gallery when the program starts.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    Hi all, at the risk of yet again (sigh) showing my noob ignorance, could someone provide links to the above mentioned (Frances and Gare) youtube tutorials?

    As usual per my observations, I'm impressed with the level of response moderators and users give to questions here. Simply awesome.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sunshine Coast BC, Canada. In a beautiful part of BC's temperate rainforest
    Posts
    9,864

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    Hi RadioHawk, don't worry about being a beginner, we were all beginners once and asking questions is how you learn You can find Gare's tutorials and much more at xaraxone.com and my tutorials can all be found on my youtube channel the link is also in my signature.

    Another great source for video and written tutorials is the Tutorials & Movies page at Xara.com

    My current Xara software: Designer Pro 365 12.6

    Good Morning Sunshine.ca | Good Morning Sunshine Online(a weekly humorous publication created with XDP and exported as a web document) | Angelize Online resource shop | My Video Tutorials | My DropBox |
    Autocorrect: It can be your worst enema.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,517

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    You may also find some interesting tutorials in this thread: http://www.talkgraphics.com/showthre...-Xara-Programs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    Uh-Oh... gonna be glued to the monitor for a while... Thanks much Angelize, and Boy - yet another confirmation of just how remarkable this forum, and it's users-moderators, are.

    I can see I'll be spending way too much time here :0, and maybe get some ed u ma k shun.

    thanks again!!
    Mark

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Terherne, Friesland, The Netherlands
    Posts
    312

    Default Re: Showing Layers

    You can keep the Layer and Page Gallery open all the time by pushing the little pushpin in the upper right corner of the gallery once it is unfolded. (If you hover over it it will show a pop-up with the text "auto hide") If you want to keep it open the pushpin should be in upright position. You can even drag it from the border of the window and drag and size it to a place where it won't be in the way.

    Hope this helps.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •