Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to Subtract Grunge Shapes?

I'm trying to subtract a grunge texture from some artwork that I've drawn but having the hardest time. When I do the subtraction I get the weirdest results. Bits and pieces of original artwork remain and it isn't giving me the result I desire. I've tried everything. I was following these http://www.shutterstock.com/newslett...strator-1.htmldirections which seem pretty simple but I think it has to do with my original paths?? I'm a novice at illustrator and would love to know how to get this to work.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wings.jpg 
Views:	350 
Size:	85.7 KB 
ID:	92529

Here is my artwork [Link removed by moderator]
    Last edited by gwpriester; 05 October 2012 at 11:07 PM.
    IP

Default Re: How to Subtract Grunge Shapes?

Welcome to TalkGraphics.

If the grunge texture is vector (you can see if you view the image in Outline mode), then you will need to remove each bit of texture by selecting it and deleting. I am not much of an Illustrator user so I am not sure which of the selection tools you need to use but it is the one that lets you select individual objects.
    IP

Have a look in the Select Menu. From the drop down box choose "Same" and you will see a variety of choices.
    From your attachment it looks like "Stroke Weight" might give you the best result.
    You might get lucky and find that the grunge shapes are all on a different layer to the art work, and that layer can be deleted.
    So check out the "Layers" window.
    Bob.
    Last edited by iamtheblues; 06 October 2012 at 05:38 AM. Reason: addendum
    ** Detailed "Create A Spinning Logo Tutorial" is available in .pdf format for download at this link **
    Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx.
    IP