Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to flash. I am getting ready to buy flash mx and was wondering what books people recommended. I have done a little research and it looks like I may either get the Flash MX Bible, or Foundation Macromedia Flash MX. If anyone else has a recommendation please say so. I have never used flash, and really want to start trying to make webpages with it.
    IP

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to flash. I am getting ready to buy flash mx and was wondering what books people recommended. I have done a little research and it looks like I may either get the Flash MX Bible, or Foundation Macromedia Flash MX. If anyone else has a recommendation please say so. I have never used flash, and really want to start trying to make webpages with it.
    IP

The best book I've found for Flash ActionScript for Flash MX is "Object-Oriented Macromedia Flash MX" by William Drol. It starts off really slow, but it does force you to learn the code. It does this by:
    1) Not providing a CD with all the source code.
    2) Forces you to type all the code yourself.

If you are looking for a source on Flash Remoting, most books available cover it to a small extent but doesn't quite get you where you want to be. I'm awaiting my order for Ben Forta's books "Flash MX Integration with Cold Fusion MX" and his "Cold Fusion MX" books. Ben Forta has, in the past, provided excellent instructive books so I'm hoping his books will open the doors a bit more.

Good luck and I hope this helps you out a bit.

Scott
    IP

I'm looking at those same two books right now, full of little tabs, markers and folds...looks like you spent time at the shelf too, huh?

Foundation kept me busy for 2 weeks, and the Bible, well...I'm good for awhile! Be sure to define goals. Maybe you're more of an ActionScript Bible Kinda Guy!

How's THIS?
    IP