Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lightbulb "Accordian" Text Boxes

Hi folks

I'm building a website with Web Designer MX Premium, and I'm trying to get the sort of behaviour where when I click on a line of text, more text appears beneath it - it expands, like an accordian, and when the user clicks on the same line of text the text box beneath it disappears. As an example, the Xara Support page - http://support.xara.com/index.php?_m...articleid=2893 - when you click on the question the text appears beneath it. Whilst it'd be cool to have the text spin up like they have it, it's not essential - I just want the behaviour where the text box expands to show the information.

Another example, and closer to what I really want to acheive is this page: tssredmond.com/Pages/Course-Detail.aspx?CourseID=102

When you click on the Course Description or Course Outline boxes they expand and show the text.

I'm pretty new to web design, it's been a steep learning curve, but I think I'm getting there, but I've tried various ways of emulating this behaviour, and I just can't seem to get it. Any advice would be hugely appreciated!!

Thank you!

Mark
    Last edited by Drwyd; 12 July 2012 at 07:39 PM.

Default Re: "Accordian" Text Boxes

Welcome to TalkGraphics

I'm not sure I understand what you are asking. But then there's a lot I don't understand.

Do you mean when the visitor clicks a line of text that a menu of additional options appear below or to the side?

Hi Marktho, welcome to TG

Neither either methods are possible without workarounds, WDMXP uses absolute positioning to accurate position of the design elements. This means that dynamically changing the page length is not normally possible.

There is a tweak that will allow dynamic page lengthening but I am not familiar with it.

There are some accordion widgets in the design gallery under Content Slideshows (widgets) that may be an alternative