Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Would appreciate any comments/criticism about my website

Good morning....

I have been working on my website (www.stoppersnstuff.net) for over two months, and last night, my daughter (who works on her corporate website - content - not coding) looked at it and said it looked too dated. So she proceeded to have me simplify it, clean up the colors, and change my heading. It looks a little bland to me now. If any of you would have any suggestions, I would really appreciate it. I am including my original homepage prior to the changes.

Thank you in advance.

Dave
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	stoppersnstuff-homepage.jpg 
Views:	629 
Size:	116.2 KB 
ID:	90170  

Default Re: Would appreciate any comments/criticism about my website

Dave

What's appropriate for a corporate website is not always right for a small hand crafted site. While as a designer I might tend to favor your daughter's designs, I think the image you posted looks more folksy and down to earth and real.

RE: the new design, it is a bit cleaner and easier to navigate so it is not a bad direction to go. You need work on the buttons though. The mouseover buttons are blank!

Sunshine Coast BC, Canada. In a beautiful part of BC's temperate rainforest

I agree with Gary, your original design does look more folksy. And as well as the mouseovers on the buttons I also noticed that the last gallery hair bows and pins isn't working. Perhaps the button isn't linked?

One suggestion I can make is that photos don't always have to be rectangular try taking one or two of the photos and close cropping the photo to remove the background, make it big and repel the text around it
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    My current Xara software: Designer Pro 365 12.6