Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Xara Designer Pro 7 and Wordpress

Hi,

I am pretty new to the web design and development arena, that is to say, using Xara Designer Pro 7. I currently have a client that needs a Wordpress website so that they can edit/update content and photos on a regular basis. I would love to use Xara Designer Pro 7 to build the website and then integrate it into Wordpress, but am not sure how much of the design can be integrated (i.e., buttons, drop-downs, rollovers, zooms in and out, etc.). Is there anyone out there using Xara to create designs for Wordpress sites? If so, how are you going about integrating your Xara designs into Wordpress? I might be asking for too much here, and if I am, please ignore my ignorance and maybe just point me in the right direction if you can.

Thanks so much!

Candee

Default Re: Xara Designer Pro 7 and Wordpress

Welcome to TalkGraphics Candee

Xara is perfect for creating website graphics and websites as well. The principal benefit in my opinion is you can do everything in one program.

Our head moderator/administrator is a WordPress user and I will see if I can get her to comment on your question. I know that she works in both programs.

Hi Cindy,

If your question is can your use Xara Designer Pro 7 to build a WordPress site - the answer is yes and no. Yes you can create the graphics for the site, you can "sketch" out the layout, but you can't transfer any of the code that Xara writes or functionality it builds in.

When you use Xara to work out the design for a site that will not ultimately be published from Xara, you have a tremendous advantage. You are creating your final graphics as you prototype and many of the graphics will be vector based so it will be easy to create color, size, shape variations as you design or in the future.