Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 52
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesd View Post
    Hi Paul, If you are using WDMX (not premium) you won't find the "replace with HTML code (head)"...
    Hi James. Yes, I only have the basic version. So does that mean I'll never be able to see your code in situ?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Hi Paul, I think you will need to use the "replace with HTML code (body)" then using the name tag give it the name <head>

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Good method!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesd View Post
    Hi Paul, I think you will need to use the "replace with HTML code (body)" then using the name tag give it the name <head>
    Well, I've had a play with your sample code and have to ask what exactly is its purpose? Forgive me if that sounds rude, but I can't see any difference in behaviour from a plain text box - except that it shows a strange little rectangle at the start of the heading!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulD View Post
    Well, I've had a play with your sample code and have to ask what exactly is its purpose? Forgive me if that sounds rude, but I can't see any difference in behaviour from a plain text box - except that it shows a strange little rectangle at the start of the heading!
    You can see how it should look like here.
    I am downloading the trial version of WDMX to see how it differs to Premium. I will post back later

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Ok, HTMLBlockText doesn't work in WDMX (not premium).

    I have attached a workaround for WDMX, but you will have to style the text manually
    scroll_text_box_for_WDMX-basic.web

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sherwood, Oregon
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Greetings,

    I have WDMX Premium and I have added the scrolling text box as described in earlier posts.

    I have two issues:

    1. In preview mode, the images I have added to the text box, show up fine and the links attached to the images work perfectly. However, when I export the website and bring it up to preview, the images do not show up in Firefox.
    2. The scrolling text box will only show the text that is within the vertical confines of the page size. If the text exceeds the page size vertical dimension, the scrolling text box truncates the text... unless I drag the bottom page grid line below the text, which then restores the full text.

    Questions:

    1. I would like the images and links to work in Firefox... any ideas?
    2. Is there any way to have the full text in the scrolling text box without dragging the page grid down every time additional information is added?

    Thanks!
    "Old enough to know better... too young to resist"

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sherwood, Oregon
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    I went back to the vanilla approach and deleted the images and went with text based links in the scrolling text box. Works well in Internet Exploder and Fire Fox.

    But.... I cannot get the color changes I made to the scroll bar, that match the Theme of the website, to show up in Fire Fox... It's usually Internet Exploder that doesn't play nice, but not this time!

    Here is the code I am using: (however, all I am getting is the MS Battleship Gray scroll bar and track... uuuuugly!)

    <style type="text/css">

    #scroll1 {
    width: 275px;
    height: 500px;
    padding-left: 5px;
    padding-right: 5px;
    overflow: auto;

    scrollbar-face-color: #540008;
    scrollbar-shadow-color: #333333;
    scrollbar-highlight-color: #C10212;
    scrollbar-3dlight-color: #000000;
    scrollbar-darkshadow-color: #000000;
    scrollbar-track-color: #000000;
    scrollbar-arrow-color: #CCCCCC;

    }
    </style>
    "Old enough to know better... too young to resist"

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    1. In preview mode, the images I have added to the text box, show up fine and the links attached to the images work perfectly. However, when I export the website and bring it up to preview, the images do not show up in Firefox.
    When you say export are you meaning export or publish? If its export you will need to use relative urls instead of absolute, for example use <a href="somepage.htm"><img src="index_htm_files/logo.png"/></a> instead of <a href="http://www.yoursite.com/somepage.htm"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/index_htm_files/logo.png"/></a>
    Providing the image and link page are in your exported folder.

    2. The scrolling text box will only show the text that is within the vertical confines of the page size. If the text exceeds the page size vertical dimension, the scrolling text box truncates the text... unless I drag the bottom page grid line below the text, which then restores the full text.
    Goto Web Properties>>Website and uncheck clip to page edges.

    But.... I cannot get the color changes I made to the scroll bar, that match the Theme of the website, to show up in Fire Fox... It's usually Internet Exploder that doesn't play nice, but not this time!
    Firefox does not support scrollbar styling yet.
    You could try something like this http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...roll/index.htm
    If I get time tomorrow I will look into it

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sherwood, Oregon
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    James,

    Thanks for the input.

    1. I was using images on my local hard drive in a folder residing in my .WEB Folder. They show up in IE but not in FF.

    2. I will go in and test the Unclip box.

    3. I did find out that FF doesn't support scrollbar styling... interesting for a browser that typically leads the way on functionality. I look forward to what you discover on the FaceScroll script! Keep me posted!
    "Old enough to know better... too young to resist"

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •