Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    533

    Default How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Here is an SEO friendly way to create a scroll text box in Xara.

    First create your text box as normal making the box the width you want and to accommodate the text in length. Then select it with the selector tool, using the yellow tag icon give it a name eg:scroll1 also give it the name HTMLBlockText.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scroll_box.png 
Views:	978 
Size:	149.3 KB 
ID:	84526

    Next create a rectangle, then using the placeholder tab select 'HTML code (head)' and paste the following code:

    <style type="text/css">
    #scroll1 {
    height: 100px;
    padding-left: 5px;
    padding-right: 5px;
    border-color: #6699CC;
    border-width: 1px;
    border-style: solid;
    overflow: auto;
    }
    </style>

    The text(above) colored in red must be the same name that you first gave the text box in this case its 'scroll1'. Everything colored in green can be changed to suit, scroll box height etc..

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scroll_box_style.png 
Views:	739 
Size:	92.6 KB 
ID:	84527


    Here is the xar file: scroll_text_box.xar

    Last edited by jamesd; 07 October 2011 at 10:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sunshine Coast BC, Canada. In a beautiful part of BC's temperate rainforest
    Posts
    9,864

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Thank You James, I'm sure this will come in handy.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    My current Xara software: Designer Pro 365 12.6

    Good Morning Sunshine.ca | Good Morning Sunshine Online(a weekly humorous publication created with XDP and exported as a web document) | Angelize Online resource shop | My Video Tutorials | My DropBox |
    Autocorrect: It can be your worst enema.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5

    xdp6 Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    GREAT!!!!
    Very nice solution. Now the following challenge!!!
    When I incorporate a picture in the text (even when anchored) the picture stays on its spot in the page and not the scroll box.
    I would like to scroll with the picture staying in place relevant to the text
    Is that possible?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box with image in Xara

    Hi nowequa,

    You will need to use another placeholder.
    Have a look at the attached .xar file you will see the word *image* I have highlighted this and then placed the following img tag using a placeholder.

    <img src="http://www.talkgraphics.com/images/styles/CrystalClean/style/logo.png"/>

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image_01_screen_shot.jpg 
Views:	449 
Size:	60.4 KB 
ID:	85451

    Change the red text to your image file path.

    scroll_text_box_with_image.xar
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by jamesd; 20 November 2011 at 02:23 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Thank you Jamesd.
    Great!
    Sorry for late answer due to company trip.
    Coming holiday will be perfect to experiment
    Seasons Greetings to you and all other members

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    41,524

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Excellent James. This comes up very frequently. I hope you added a keyword(s) to the thread so it can be found quickly in a search of TG.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Nederland
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Quote Originally Posted by nowequa View Post
    GREAT!!!!
    Very nice solution. Now the following challenge!!!
    When I incorporate a picture in the text (even when anchored) the picture stays on its spot in the page and not the scroll box.
    I would like to scroll with the picture staying in place relevant to the text
    Is that possible?
    Hello my engels not good sorry
    How do I put it in xara designer pro x
    Do you tell me
    Thank you
    Greetings Albert

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    41,524

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Welcome to TalkGraphics Albert

    This thread is 6 years old.

    Please start a new thread in this forum.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesd View Post

    Next create a rectangle, then using the placeholder tab select 'HTML code (head)' and paste the following code...
    Problem: Can't see any "HTML code (head)" buttons. Wherever I look in the various Web Properties tags they are "HTML code (body)" only.

    In your xar file, when I click on the placeholder the "widget - edit" menu pops up but clicking on edit does nothing. If I forcibly call up Web Properties, under the Placeholder tag the "Replace with HTML code" radio button is activated, as if something is present, but clicking HTML code (body) produces an empty window.

    Never seen this before. What goes on? Is there a connection between this and the fact that no HTML code (head) button is showing?

    (Sorry - just noticed this is an old post. Hope someone can help as I'd like to study this more closely.)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: How to make a scroll text box in Xara

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulD View Post
    Problem: Can't see any "HTML code (head)" buttons. Wherever I look in the various Web Properties tags they are "HTML code (body)" only.

    In your xar file, when I click on the placeholder the "widget - edit" menu pops up but clicking on edit does nothing. If I forcibly call up Web Properties, under the Placeholder tag the "Replace with HTML code" radio button is activated, as if something is present, but clicking HTML code (body) produces an empty window.

    Never seen this before. What goes on? Is there a connection between this and the fact that no HTML code (head) button is showing?

    (Sorry - just noticed this is an old post. Hope someone can help as I'd like to study this more closely.)
    Hi Paul, If you are using WDMX (not premium) you won't find the "replace with HTML code (head)" instead using the name tag Name:  15.jpg
Views: 2678
Size:  695 Bytes you will need to give the name <head> to the placeholder.

    I think I only have the premium version, can someone else confirm?

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •