Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

hey all...
    I'm a long-time Painter user and just came across this forum... nice place yall got here. I use Painter for illustration mainly but I've also been known to use it for texture-mapping in 3dsMax... I'd be interested to see if anyone else is using Painter for texturing 3d stuff.
    My tech q: I'm running Painter 5.5 on W2k Professional, and lately for some reason it has been saving corrupted files. When I re-open those files they appear as though lines have been raked into it and changed the pixel color all the way down. The entire painting is ruined, and destroys days of hard work. I can still see the image but the colors are banded and weird. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem, and if you know what to do about it... should I maybe re-install Painter? Thanks for any help you could give me.
    IP

hey all...
    I'm a long-time Painter user and just came across this forum... nice place yall got here. I use Painter for illustration mainly but I've also been known to use it for texture-mapping in 3dsMax... I'd be interested to see if anyone else is using Painter for texturing 3d stuff.
    My tech q: I'm running Painter 5.5 on W2k Professional, and lately for some reason it has been saving corrupted files. When I re-open those files they appear as though lines have been raked into it and changed the pixel color all the way down. The entire painting is ruined, and destroys days of hard work. I can still see the image but the colors are banded and weird. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem, and if you know what to do about it... should I maybe re-install Painter? Thanks for any help you could give me.
    IP

Hi and welcome!

A couple of recommendations:

Always save your work in a series of files, in Painter's native RIFF format naming them, for instance:

waterfall01.rif
    waterfall02.rif
    waterfall03.rif