Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Publishing

Default Publishing

Hi,
    I'm new to Xara, and I'm not really great at website stuff, so bear with me.
    I have a host and an addon domain that I want to publish a new site to, from Xara. When Xara asks me for the FTP host address, is that the server name? Or the addon domain name? Or something else altogether?
    I've looked in the host Cpanel under FTP accounts and the info given there doesn't identify exactly what's what, or its a bit confusing anyway.
    So essentially, I'm looking for the FTP host address, The FTP username, and the FTP password.
    And what should I call the files that will be the site?
    I don't know if I'm making sense?

Thanks anyway
    Eoinmc

Default Re: Publishing

I can sympathize. I focus a lot on Internet beginners.

The "Publish" instructions tell you to contact your isp -- which is who you're hosting with -- because they can help with your password and username if you don't know what they are. It's been a while since I used CPanel, but the username and password should be the same ones that got you into CPanel. The host address is your domain name, like mydomain.com.

THEN you stop making sense (laugh). How do you mean "name the files?" Xara names the first file (on top) "index" -- which would be your home page, but maybe not if you're THAT new. As for the other filenames, if you can be on one page, click the link to another page, and the other page opens, then your filenames are okay. Just be sure the very top web page in Xara is the home page -- the first page that people land on.

If that info -- username and password -- is different that for CPanel, then ask your provider (hosting company). ISP means Internet Service Provider.

Just ask.

Thanks Mike,
    I try that.

What I meant by 'name the files' is - when I saved the webpage to my disc it saved as 'social networking site' so I wondered if I published it, how anyone would find it.