Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1

    Question Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    I suppose the title says it all. It's not really specific file related, but happens quite often when I launch xara with document restoring turned on.

    I'm using Designer Pro, but it also used to happen before on XX5.

    Any idea why this is happening?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,735

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    have you moved the file between closing and then reopening the program?
    -------------------------------
    no more

  3. #3

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    well i cant say i'm 100% sure, but i'm almost certain i did not. What is the known reason for this to happen, so I can pay more attention to it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    7,700

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    Bit of a pity it doesn't say what the "invalid pathname" is, then you'd know!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,735

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    I have no idea why it is happening, except that usually an invalid pathname means a file/folder is not where the program expects it to be and you mentioned it happening with document restoring on [which implies it does not happen with document restore off - right?]

    Like Paul says - if the message does not detail the path it was looking for, its a bit unhelpful
    -------------------------------
    no more

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Boulder Creek, California, USA
    Posts
    6,193

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    I somewhat remember a problem with something in regards to a long path and having a number of characters limit. I know very helpful.

    Rich

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,735

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    that's true Rich - if the path is a real long one, [and the number of characters in the folders/file names all count towards length of course], then it may cause problems
    -------------------------------
    no more

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    If memory serves there was a 255 character limit on path names with Windows XP and older. However, there are other factors that can give a false path not found error. Using spaces rather than dashes or underscores can cause the OS to lose the complete path name, also invalid file/path name characters can also cause the problem.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,735

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    some characters can be 'iffy' such as '&' which I use in file names occasionally and is usually fine, but some programs do not like
    Last edited by handrawn; 09 May 2011 at 12:31 AM. Reason: typo
    -------------------------------
    no more

  10. #10

    Default Re: Why am i constantly getting "Invalid Pathname" error?

    thanks for replies guys... yeah it sux it doest specify which path exactly is causing the problem. It does happen quite often though. I'll try paying more attention and possibly figure out when this error is happening. But shouldn't some of the Xara developers know when this error happens for certain?

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •