Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default client asked why site loads in pieces

okay - I'm not a newbie... so, I know that sites designed with tables will load all at once - where as a site designed with css and divs will "load as it goes" - this is not really a bug, it's supposed to be an improvement so the user sees "something" happening while they wait for the site to load...

However, I have wondered how long it would be before a client mentioned the way Xara seems to slowly assemble the webpages.

Is there a way to optimize this or is everyone dealing with this...

You can see the site in question here - http://new.wfpcnet.com (still in work, proofing marks and goofy content all over)

Default Re: client asked why site loads in pieces

Hello wfcentral,

You have approximately 1.53 megabytes of images, 22 of which return a 404 (cannot find) error. First off, I would heartily recommend using FireFox with both the YSlow and PageSpeed plugins to examine your web site.

You can probably gain some performance by optimizing the images that should be there and figuring out why all the 404 errors are present. FireFox and those plugins will aid this process.

Take care, Mike

Quote Originally Posted by wfcentral View Post
    okay - I'm not a newbie... so, I know that sites designed with tables will load all at once
    Absolutely wrong. Tables just structure the site differrently and may affect the order of loading graphics, but they do not load "all at once".

- where as a site designed with css and divs will "load as it goes"
    All you are seeing is a differrent loading order, because the graphics are sequenced differrently to a table based approach.

- this is not really a bug
    Correct - it's not.

it's supposed to be an improvement so the user sees "something" happening while they wait for the site to load...
    There's no improvement, it's just differrent and not intentional either.