Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Video quality is poor when installed in website

Hello, I am new to the Xara Web Designer 6 Program. I used FrontPage for years until it crashed a month ago. I am working on replacing and upgrading a very big site.

I use many videos and to have them work on this program I am converting them from wmv files to flv files. A wmv file of about 10mb was great quality on my old site. converting the file to flv I have compromised to a 10 mb file going to 13 mb this shows the same quality with the adobe player on my computer. when i install this into my website the quality deteriorates so that movement is jerky. To get smooth playback I have to have a video of 68 mb this for a 4 minute video....and takes to long to download on the website.

does anyone have a solution to this? I am using a placeholder and going into webproperties to insert the swf file for the player and then using file - import to import the file into the player. I do get a weird error message that says the file format isn't recognized and it may not play correctly. then it also installs the small video player that is standard for this program. I delete the small player and the flv file is then in the player that I imported. Hope this makes sense. I'm really not techie and need easy directions and no code.... LOL.

thanks so much for any help
    Holly

Default Re: Video quality is poor when installed in website

Hello Holly and Welcome to Talkgraphics

I do not know the answer to your question (I'm no techie either) but check back. I am sure one of our members will have a good suggestion.

Hi Holly,

Does the program you are using to convert from wmv to flv offer conversion to swf?

The flash player works better with swf.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

Thank you for the welcome Gary.