Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Unhappy text sometimes turning grey

First, I'm new to Xara and this forum, so I am guessing I am missing something obvious. And I came to this forum, because as near as I can tell the problem I am having only occurs when I attempt to create an animation.

I have a bitmap graphic to which I am trying to add text. In the animation what is in the bitmap will stay in place, and the words will fade in and out one at a time. When I added the text at first it seemed fine (black). But when I tried to make it larger (10 pt to 14 pt) it turned grey. I have tried all kinds of things, and I just cant' get Xara to make larger grey text. I have tried to change the text color, no luck. If I go back to a drawing everything works as it should - I can change text colors and everything. But in the animations the text color won't stay black and won't change colors.

I spent about an hour and a hale looking through videos and help, and half an hour looking at forum posts. Very frustrated at this point, and help will be greatly appreciated!

thanks
    Anne

Default Re: text sometimes turning grey

Hi Anne and welcome to TalkGraphics

Did you add transparency to the text? That might make it lighter.

And when you export your animation does the text look OK then? Or is it still gray?

I did not intentionally add transparency. Early on I started typing in text, and it was black (10 pt). I selected it and changed to 16 pt and it turned grey. So I tried deleting it, changing to 16 pt and then typing the text and it was still grey. I tried so many things after that I lost track. The really frustrating part was that it did not seem to be consistent.

I stopped when I couldn't get the text right - but I will go back and ignore the text color and see what happens.

thanks,
    Anne