Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Having problem when uploading to ftp site for browsing

I'm new to web designing. Xara is first program I've ever used. I love it and have designed a 30 page site (clone of another site I had another design for me) but when I publish and export the files, I'm not getting anything useable. If I look at the .htm files in my browser they look just as they were designed, but when I look at the same files after they have been uploaded to the ftp site, they appear all black, no copy to be read. I can see the outline of what looks like boxes on the left, and at the bottom bright and clear it reads "designed in xara" I use filezilla to upload to the ftp site. When I tried doing it in xara, nothing would upload, server wouldn't recognize it. I'm sure I'm not doing something that is elementary. The web designer who did my original site doesn't know xara. He says the "paths" are all screwed up. He doesn't know what to do to help. So I'm pleading my case to the pros. What do I need to do to fix this. I want to have some fun.

Default Re: Having problem when uploading to ftp site for browsing

Aside from uploading your index.htm with Filezilla, are you also uploading the index_htm_files folder?
    This folder contains all the resource files that the .htm file calls (images, .css and .js etc)
    Without that, you won't see your design.

Welcome to TalkGraphics Ray

Do as Steve advises and everything should be fine. Also, you may need to upload your files to a sub directory, such as public_html. If this is your first time uploading files, check with your ISP to see if you are putting your files and folder into the correct directory.