Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default HTaccess and default

Uploading XARA site - get an error when i try the www address- i need to add the ht access file and specify defaults i think- does xara not do this as part of the upload? Appreciate your help- Im a total newbie

Default Re: HTaccess and default

.htaccess files are optional server side permission/configuration settings (held in a hidden and encrypted file) and have nothing to do with Xara Web Designer.

Maybe if you could show us what the error is, we'd be more likely to have a clue
    Last edited by steve.ledger; 26 September 2010 at 01:25 AM.

The first time I put the site up, the hostgator people said it was missing an ht access file and a default page. They put it in. When I cleared out to republish, i lost the access file contents. Now I uploaded a clean xara site, which looked great the first time, and now i get an apache error because it probably doesnt know the access file info which contained default directory ref i think the first time. 2 Questions: how do i get this back up and running (i.e. with the 2-3 simple lines in an htaccess file) and 2) doesnt xara automatically take care of this so that a simple publish should work right away? This is a cpanel setup in hostgator.

As I say, this has nothing to do with Xara Web Designer.
    Not even certain why Hostgator wants this, but if they do - then it's their job to help you out (they are the web server administrator). You should not delete it if you see it in your root directory.
    I'd also advise you publish using Web Designers publishing feature and not use cpanel at all.

Thanks sledger- here's the error. Index of /

* InternationalGrowthStrategies/

Apache mod_fcgid/2.3.5 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 Server at internationalgrowthstrategies.com Port 80