Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Sound on popup layer?

Web Designer 6 -- can I add sound to a popup layer? I want the user to mouseover and display the layer art, and at the same time play a short WAV or MP3 file that stops when the layer is mouseoffed.

Or, if impossible via a popup, how to do it on page load/exit?

And by the way -- WD6 is the most amazing value. It is shocking, even in this recession, to think of all the work, all the code, that is retailed at such a low price. Sort of like getting a new Bentley Azure for about $2000. Glad I'm an artist; if I were a programmer, life wouldn't be fair right about now.

Default Re: Sound on popup layer?

Web Designer doesn't include tools to add sound events I'm afraid. Maybe next time

Try this: it works in IE with Windows 7... do Edit/Paste HTML Placeholder... gives you a neat small sound control with pause and volume... also the sound stops when you leave the page, perfect for user control. Plays MP3s and WAVs. Change "url.mp3" to the filename of your audio file.

<object height="40px" width="200px"
    classid="clsid:22D6F312-B0F6-11D0-94AB-0080C74C7E95">
    <param name="AutoStart" value="0" />
    <param name="FileName" value="url.mp3" />
    </object>

And, if you want an invisible control that plays automatically (user can only turn it off by going to another page), try this:

<object height="0px" width="0px"
    classid="clsid:22D6F312-B0F6-11D0-94AB-0080C74C7E95">
    <param name="AutoStart" value="1" />
    <param name="FileName" value="url.mp3" />
    </object>

I'm using this on a local PC, haven't tried it yet from a real website. Haven't tried it with other browsers. Noticed in IE that the sound keeps playing if I move away from my multi-page WD6 test to a completely different site via an IE browser tab.

Any thoughts/comments?

If it works, and if it is what you want, then that is comment enough.