Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Help I'm a beginner...!

Hi
    I've never created a website before and I am a complete beginner. I've created my website using xtreme web designer 5 and have 'finally' published it.
    All the links in the content of the home page take me to the other pages however the buttons don't (xara page is displayed). What have I done wrong?
    I think the problem for me is that I don't understand the jargon so any BASIC instructions would be very gratefully received. Thanks.

A little french village east of Dallas, TX called Forney And now Austria and Germany too

Default Re: Help I'm a beginner...!

Hi newsue and welcome to TalkGraphics.

The same way you applied the web address to your text links, do that again for the buttons. Select the graphic button
    Press Ctrl+Shift+W to bring up the website properties screen
    in the 'Link to page' field, select the name of the page in your site that you want to link to.

If you want to link to a page outside of your site, then just replace the www.xara.com address with the address that you want in the 'Link to Web or Email Address' field.

Always press the 'Apply' button each time.

Repeat the process each time for as many buttons as you have.

I hope that gets you there.

Eric
    I'm never wrong. I thought I was wrong once but it turns out that I was mistaken.
    Web Templates. My Beginner Video Tutorials
    My Club. My Album.
    My Other Album. My Tutorial.

Welcome to TalkGraphics newsue

In order for the buttons to work when you preview your website in the preview browser, the buttons must link to something. Xara when they created the templates linked the buttons to their website (a marketing ploy? ).

So when you determine what the pages will be, then as Eric has explained, you can relink the buttons as appropriate.